StaffGuide: Committees


The University of Arkansas Libraries Organizational Development Committee (ODC) purpose is to provide resources and venues that lead the Libraries into a positive, comprehensive, and high-performing work environment. ODC's activities promote awareness of challenges within our current organizational culture that might impede the mission of the University of Arkansas at large and the UA Libraries specifically which is "to provide access to information that will support and foster creativity, study, teaching, and research" for all.

The Libraries workforce agreed on a Libraries Values Statement in December 2020. The purpose of the committee is to provide leadership and resources that enable our commitment to our responsibility for creating, supporting, and maintaining an inclusive workplace that belongs to all of us. We can strengthen our culture and organization by approaching each other and our work with intentional goodwill, honesty, empathy, and trust as we encourage others to hold themselves and each other accountable to do the same.

The libraries' Organizational Development committee supports, promotes, and advocates the 150 Forward Strategic Plan which includes three pillars:

  • Student Success
  • Research Excellence
  • Employer of Choice

Office of the Chancellor's Key Communications

University of Arkansas Libraries' Personnel Shared Values

The Libraries' Shared Values illustrate our collective commitment to work together and provide our best efforts to the communities we serve and each other.  The shared values support and honor the University of Arkansas Libraries Values Statement.

Shared values:

  • Be truthful: Be candid.
  • Keep the private information of others confidential: There may be instances where personal information may need to be shared in the work setting.
  • Challenge ideas, not people: Interrupt bad actions but keep kindness in mind with your fellow workers.
  • Consider alternative thoughts, ideas, opinions, and behaviors based on lived experiences: We acknowledge that people come from different backgrounds and have multiple identities and cultural frameworks.
  • Take responsibility for your own learning: If you don't understand something, be accountable.
  • Foster an environment of equal access to resources and knowledge: Ensure equitable access to library services via prompt and deliberate communication. Be mindful that we all have varying interaction styles and workloads.  Be thoughtful and respectful.
  • Give people enough lead time to understand complex content: Make requests in a considerate manner so that others can fully understand the task and respond appropriately.  Don't assume that anyone has time to drop everything and help you immediately.

Focus Areas

  • Awareness - Promoting the discovery of opportunities and weaknesses with a clear vision of advancing the organization.
  • Assessment - Collecting data related to transformative processes to be able to identify growth.
  • Commitment - Willingness to change and to adapt for the benefit of all. 
  • Accountable - Able to recommend new ideas and processes, and willingness to remove unproductive mindsets and processes.
  • Openness - Clear and direct communication.
  • Professional Development - Providing opportunities that enhance a holistic approach to a work environment while embracing new ideas and ways to provide library services.


The UA Libraries' ODC is strongly supported by the Libraries' administration.  Membership is open to all non-administrative library faculty, staff, and students. Members may volunteer, and recommendations by all library personnel are accepted on an ongoing basis. Faculty and staff serve a two or three-year term; students serve a one or two-semester term depending on availability. All students ranks are welcome to collaborate. Membership is approved by the Director of Organizational Development who also serves as the ODC chair.

Recently, the committee has added ODC liaisons. Liaisons serve as needed based on current and local ODC needs. The three liaisons participate in the areas of accessibility, Arkansas Indigenous peoples, and student engagement.

Current members

  • Martha Anderson – Director of Organizational Development and Head of Digital Services; committee chair, August 2020 to present
  • Kim Larsen - Undergraduate Engagement Librarian, September 2022 to present
  • Megan York - Education Librarian, February 2024 to present
  • Kelsey Lovewell – Director of Public Relations; November 2021 to present
  • Robin Roggio - Interlibrary Loan Coordinator, September 2022 to present
  • Juliette Robinson - Special Collections Specialist, June 2023 to present
  • Ashton Payne - Physics library staff, library intern, and President of Razorbook Club, February 2024 to present
  • Bekah Olson - Library Engagement and Instruction Graduate Assistant, March 2024 - present

Send email to this group:;;;;;;;


Administrative Liaison: Jason Battles, Dean of UA Libraries


Accessibility – Virginia Siegel, Arkansas Folk Arts Coordinator; November 2021 to present; and Kim Larsen, Undergraduate Engagement Librarian, November 2022 to present

Indigenous Peoples of Arkansas – Katharine Chandler, Special Collections and Serials Cataloger, September 2022 to present

Student Commitment – Kim Larsen, Undergraduate Engagement Librarian, September 2022 to present

Liaisons contact information:

  • Katharine Chandler,
  • Virginia Siegel,
  • Kim Larsen,

Former members

  • Necia Parker-Gibson - Agriculture Librarian, August 2020 to December 2024
  • Abigail Hagner - Engagement and Instruction Graduate Assistant, June 2023 to December 2023
  • Tucker Moretta - Education and Health Professions Graduate Assistant, August 2022 to August 2023
  • Cedar Middleton, Institutional Repository Coordinator, August 2020 to August 2022
  • Kelli Nixon - Development Coordinator, January 2022 to July 2022
  • Lindsey K. Williams – Binding and Preservation Specialist, March 2021 to March 2022
  • Tyrah Jackson – Undergraduate student, May 2021 to January 2022
  • Deena Owens – Administrative Specialist III, Special Collections; August 2020 to September 2021
  • Marianne Williams – Undergraduate Engagement Librarian, August 2020 to February 2021
  • Kelli Nixon – Development Coordinator, August 2020 to December 2020
  • Melanie Griffin - Director of Special Collections Services, March 2021 to July 2022.

Minutes and Documents