StaffGuide: Cataloging and Acquisitions

Statistics: Counting for University Library Collection

STATISTICS: COUNTING FOR UNIVERSITY LIBRARY COLLECTIONS

DEFINITIONS FOR PRINTED MATERIALS:

ARL (Association of Research Libraries): 

Definition for volume: "A single physical unit of any printed, typewritten, handwritten, mimeographed or processed work, distinguished from other units by a separate binding, encasement, portfolio, or other clear distinction, which has been cataloged, classified, and made ready for use, and which is typically the unit used to charge circulation transactions."

ACRL (Association of College and Reference Libraries):

Definition for volume: "A physical unit of any printed, handwritten, mimeographed, or processed work, contained in one binding or portfolio, hardbound or paperbound, that has been cataloged, classified, and made ready for use."

I. BOOKS:

A. What to count: All print monographs which are new to the library, which have never been cataloged before. The monographs may be purchased or gifts.

B. How to count Monographs (OCLC): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record edited in InfoLinks. Count 1 volume per item record created and attached to the bibliographic record. Under the volume column also count added copies or volumes, again 1 volume per item record. (Note, the title has been cataloged previously and the library has received another copy or volume for the title.) If more than one copy is received and the copies are in different locations, generally count the title in main and a volume for the main copy and count the second copy under the other location. A book may have a supplement, either printed or a non-book material. If an item record is created, count that volume on the appropriate statistics sheet. NOTE: Do not count volumes for flagged analyzed titles received from the Serials Department. The volume should have been counted at the point of checkin and should have an item record (which cataloging staff will be linked to the monograph record). Count volumes received from the Acquisitions Department (not flagged).

C. How to count Monographs (Orig): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record created in OCLC and exported to InfoLinks. Count 1 volume per item record created and attached to the bibliographic record. If more than one copy is received and the copies are in different locations, generally count the title in main and a volume for the main copy and count the second copy under the other location. A good example of this situation would be the theses and dissertations. A book may have a supplement, either printed or a non-book material. If an item record is created, count that volume on the appropriate statistics sheet. NOTE: Do not count volumes for flagged analyzed titles received from the Serials Department. The volume should have been counted at the point of checkin and should have an item record (which cataloging staff will be linked to the monograph record). Count volumes received from the Acquisitions Department (not flagged).

D. Where to record the count: Find the correct column, either Monographs (OCLC) or Monographs (Orig) then record the count in the correct row in the box for the correct branch or library department collection.

II. SERIALS:

A. What to count: All print serials which are new to the library, which have never been cataloged before. The serials may have a subscription, be a gift, or a one time purchase of one or more volumes.

B. How to count Serials (OCLC): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record edited in InfoLinks which has not been edited before. Count 1 volume per item record created and attached to the bibliographic record. Note that item records will not be created for new subscriptions because the item records will be created by the serials department or the binding department. A serial volume may have a supplement, either printed or a non-book material. If an item record is created, count that volume on the appropriate statistics sheet.

C. How to count Serials (Orig): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record created in OCLC and exported to InfoLinks. Count 1 volume per item record created and attached to the bibliographic record. Note that item records will not be created for new subscriptions because the item records will be created by the serials department or the binding department. A serial volume may have a supplement, either printed or a non-book material. If an item record is created, count that volume on the appropriate statistics sheet.

D. Where to count: Find the correct column, either Serials (OCLC) or Serials (Orig) then record the count in the correct row in the box for the correct branch or library department.

DEFINITIONS FOR NON-BOOKS MATERIALS

ARL and ACRL:

Microforms volumes:

"Report the total number of physical units: reels of microfilm, microcards, and microprint and microfiche sheets."

Computer files volumes:

"Include the number of pieces of computer-readable disks, tapes, CD-ROMs, and similar machine-readable files comprising data or programs that are locally held as part of the library's collections..."

Cartographic materials volumes:

"Include the number of pieces of two- and three-dimensional maps and globes. Include satellite and aerial photographs and images."

Graphic materials volumes:

"Include the number of pieces of prints, pictures, photographs, postcards, slides, transparencies, film strips, and the like."

Audio materials volumes:

"Include the number of pieces of audio cassettes, phonodiscs, audio compact discs, reel-to-reel tapes, and other sound recordings."

Film and video materials volumes:

"Include the number of pieces of motion pictures, video cassettes, video laser discs, and similar visual materials."

III. NON-BOOKS (Monographs):

A. What to count: All non-book monographs which are new to the library, which have never been cataloged before. The non-book materials may be purchased or gifts.

B. How to count Non-Books Monographs (OCLC): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record edited in InfoLinks. Count 1 volume per physical unit or piece, whether the pieces are in the same or separate containers, (except the Internet Resource and kit titles) added to the libraries’ collections. Do not count a volume for an Internet Resource because no physical volume exists. Count a kit as 1 volume. Under the volume column also count added copies or volumes, again 1 volume per physical piece. (Note, added copy or added volume means that the title has been cataloged previously and the library has received another copy or volume for the title.) Non-book materials may have supplements, either printed or another non-book material . If an item record is created, count that volume on the appropriate statistics sheet.

C. How to count Non-Books Monographs (Orig): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record created in OCLC and exported to InfoLinks. Count 1 volume per physical unit or piece, whether the pieces are in the same or separate containers, (except the Internet Resource and kit titles) added to the libraries’ collections. Do not count a volume for an Internet Resource because no physical volume exists. Count a kit as 1 volume. Non-book materials may have supplements, either printed or another non-book material . If an item record is created, count that volume on the appropriate statistics sheet.

D. Where to record the count: Find the correct column, either Non-Books Monographs (OCLC) or Non-Books Monographs (Orig) then record the count in the correct row in the box for the correct non-book format.

IV. NON-BOOKS (Serials):

A. What to count: All non-book serials which are new to the library, which have never been cataloged before. The serials may have a subscription, be a gift, or a one time purchase of one or more volumes.

B. How to count Non-Books Serials (OCLC): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record edited in InfoLinks which has not been edited before. Count 1 volume per physical unit or piece (except the Internet Resource and kit categories) added to the libraries’ collections. Do not count a volume for an Internet Resource because no physical volume exists. Count a kit as 1 volume. Note that item records will not be created for new subscriptions because the item records will be created by the serials department or the binding department. Under the volume column also count added copies or volumes, again 1 volume per physical piece. (Note, the title has been cataloged previously and the library has received another copy or volume for the title.) Non-book materials may have supplements, either printed or another non-book material . If an item record is created, count that volume on the appropriate statistics sheet.

C. How to count Non-Books Serials (Orig): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record created in OCLC and exported to InfoLinks. Count 1 volume per physical unit or piece (except the Internet Resource and kit categories) added to the libraries’ collections. Do not count a volume for an Internet Resource because no physical volume exists. Count a kit as 1 volume. Note that item records will not be created for new subscriptions because the item records will be created by the serials department or the binding department. Non-book materials may have supplements, either printed or another non-book material . If an item record is created, count that volume on the appropriate statistics sheet.

D. Where to count: Find the correct column, either Non-Books Serials (OCLC) or Serials (Orig) then record the count in the correct row in the box for the correct format.

V. SCORES:

A. What to count: All scores which are new to the library, which have never been cataloged before. The monographs may be purchased or gifts.

B. How to count Scores (OCLC): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record edited in InfoLinks. Count 1 volume per item record created and attached to the bibliographic record. Under the volume column also count added copies or volumes, again 1 volume per item record. (Note, the title has been cataloged previously and the library has received another copy or volume for the title.)

C. How to count Scores (Orig): Count 1 title per OCLC bibliographic record created in OCLC and exported to InfoLinks. Count 1 volume per item record created and attached to the bibliographic record.

D. Where to record the count: Find the correct column, either Scores (OCLC) or Scores (Orig) then record the count in the correct row in the box for Stacks, ArkColl, AV T&D, or Other/Misc.

VI. TRANSFERS: BOOKS / SERIALS:

A. What to count: All printed materials which are being transferred (moved) from one branch library or department collection to another location. The items to transfer are delivered by staff in other departments or by the library courier.

B. How to count: For each title (all copies and volumes have been moved and the location in the bib record has been changed), record the number in the added column in the correct box for the new location and a corresponding number in the removed column in the correct box under the old location. For each volume(the location in the item record has been changed), record the number of volumes in the added column in the correct box for the new location and a corresponding number in the removed column in the correct box for the new location. NOTE: The number of titles added and removed must have the same total and the number of volumes added and removed must have the same total at the end of the month.

C. Where to record the count: Find the correct column(s) for the new location (Added Titles, Added Volumes) then record the count in the correct row in the box for the correct location. Find the correct column(s) for the old location (Removed Titles, Removed Volumes) then record the count in the correct row in the box for the previous location.

VII. WITHDRAWNS:

A. What to count: All materials which are being withdrawn (completely removed from the university libraries collections. If the item(s) to be withdrawn have been lost or stolen, the information will be recorded on a Replacement/Withdrawal Decision Form. If the item(s) are to be withdrawn because the information is outdated, the volumes will be sent to cataloging. In this case, the volumes must be stamped withdrawn and placed in the trash barrels.

B. How to count Withdrawn Non-Books: For each title (all copies and volumes are to be withdrawn and the bib record is to be suppressed or deleted), record the number in the title column in the correct format box. For each volume(the item record(s) have been suppressed or deleted), record the number of volumes in the volume column in the correct format box.

C. How to count Withdrawns Books/Serials: For each title (all copies and volumes are to be withdrawn and the bib record is to be suppressed or deleted), record the number in the title column in the correct location box. For each volume(the item record(s) have been suppressed or deleted), record the number of volumes in the volume column in the correct location box. NOTE: For serials, if the volumes have been discarded (rather than withdrawn), the discards are not counted. Examples of discards are issues which cumulate or newsletters with limited retention. These have not been counted when received and so should not be counted on the withdrawn statistics when discarded.

D. Where to record the count: Find the correct column, either titles or volumes, then record the count in the correct row in the box for the correct branch or library department collection.

VIII. RECATALOGED BOOKS, NONBOOKS, SERIALS AND SCORES AND ORIG OCLC RECORDS

A. What to count: This sheet is to record cataloging done on materials that are already in the library. There are usually two reasons to do recataloging.

  1. The materials do not have a record in InfoLinks. There may or may not be a shelflist card but these materials will have been stamped and/or labeled. It will be apparent that these are university libraries’ property. Copy may be exported from OCLC or an original records may be created in OCLC to export to InfoLinks.

  2. InfoLinks records are being edited to update information. One example is a serial title that has ceased publication and the record is edited to reflect this change. Again there may or may not be a shelflist card.

B. How to count: For each bibliographic record added to or edited in InfoLinks, count one item recataloged.

C. Where to record the count: Under the appropriate category, enter the count either in the correct location or format box. The Orig OCLC Records box may be used by the catalogers when no shelflist was available or when the shelflist information is very poor.

 

9/19/01 - clc 10/4/01 rev - clc 10/25/01 rev - clc