StaffGuide: Cataloging and Acquisitions

360 MARC E-Book Load Procedures

Every month on the 15th day, Ex Libris/Serials Solutions will send us an email notification letting us know that our 360 MARC updates are available to download from the ProQuest ftp site.

  1. Using the link provided, navigate to the ftp site and locate the latest 360 e-book file. It should have a name similar to “VFI_360MARC_Update_monographs_YYYY_MM_DD.zip” with the date being the upload date.
  2. Navigate to the Cataloging Drive, 360 MARC Records folder, Monographs sub-folder (\\nautilus\Cataloging\360 MARC Records\Monographs) and create a folder for this month’s records titled “YYYY-MM-DD Monographs.” This is where you will save the .zip file.
  3. Right-click the .zip file to extract, with the extraction destination being the same folder. This will create a series of log files and another .zip file with the actual .mrc records (VFI_360MARC_Update_monographs_monographs.zip). Create a new sub-folder labelled “Monographs” in this folder and extract the .mrc records there.
  4. The result should be three possible types of .mrc files with the distinctions “monographs_changed,” “monographs_deleted,” and “monographs_new.”
  5. If there are multiple files of one type (for example “monographs_changed_1,” “monographs_changed_2,” etc.), you will want to join them together in MarcEdit.(See the next step.)

MarcEdit Pre-Check

Open MarcEdit and locate the provided MARC (.mrc) files in the Cataloging drive that were just extracted.

 

Joining Files

If you are joining multiple files of the same type together, follow the next few steps, or skip the MARCJoin segment if not.

  1. For joining MARC files, locate MARCJoin under the “Tools” tab in MarcEdit.  To select the files to join, press the file icon next to the second box:

 

 


  1. Highlight all of the files you want to join, then select a destination to save it and a file name.
  2. Save as “YYYYMMDD Changed Joined Files,” then select “Process” (this may take a while if the file sizes are large), then close out of MARCJoin when it is finished.

Checking Records

Open MarcEditor, then open the first .mrc file (the default file type is .mrk, so be sure to change it to see your files).

  1. When opening the file, select "UTF8" for the "Default Character Encoding" option, and leave the two "Translate to" options unchecked.
  2. Under the “Reports” tab, open the "Field Count" report and check the total number of records under “results” to ensure they line up with what you expect.

    1. Field counts for the following should match the total number of records, which can be found in the RunSummary.txt log file.

      1. 000 field
      2. 035 field
      3. 245 field. If any records lack a 245, go to the "Edit" tab and choose "Edit Shortcuts," "Field Edits," and "Find Records Missing a Field" to identify and correct them. You will first want to check Sierra to see if a version of the record was loaded previously, in which case you can simply copy and paste the title. Failing that, use the 856 to connect to the online resource or search OCLC. In the case of CJK records with linking fields, it is a good idea to check for other problems (for instance, 1xx or 7xx fields that consist of $e only). Make note of the 035 so these errors can be reported to Ex Libris.
      4. 856 (there should be at least one in every record)
      5. 949 field (creates item record)
      6. 999 field (sets BCODE3)
    2. Look for any 911 fields that might be present in the file and use "Find" to locate and delete them. Sierra treats this as a password field, and any records that have this field will be rejected.
    3. Make note of any "nonsense" fields--non-numeric tags listed at the end of the report (e.g., "ubl"). These are fields that lack the initial = and MARC tag, See the following step.
  3. On the "Tools" tab, choose "Validate MARC Records" and the "Validate record structure" option to locate and correct records with the following types of problems:

    1. Fields that lack the initial = or MARC tag.
    2. Fields that contain the "tab" (<br>) character.
    3. Blank fields (consisting of the tag and indicators only)
  4. Look for instances of the musical flat symbol used in place of the copyright symbol occurring in field 264. Most occur in 264  \4 fields, so first use Find and Replace to correct those. Then run a simple Find on $c♭ to identify any others; these should be corrected manually so no unintentional changes are made. When you finish, it's also not a bad idea to perform a visual search of all =264 \4$c to make sure everything looks right. The strategies are below for copying and pasting.

    1. Find: =264  \4$c♭
    2. Replace: =264  \4$c©
    3. Find: $c♭
  5. Once you have finished making edits, it's not a bad idea to Validate again to double-check your work.
  6. To resolve other issues that prevent a record from loading, you may have to examine the Sierra errorlog.and track them down by block number at the point of loading.

Loading in Sierra

Preparing the Files

In Sierra, navigate to the Data Exchange function, under Cataloging.  In the “Select Process” dropdown, select “Load Records via a Locally Created Load Profile (local).”

  1. Choose "Get PC" at the top right to upload the files from your computer.
  2. Locate the .mrc files to be processed, select them, and then click "Upload".
  3. Change file suffix to .lfts when prompted, then select OK.

 

 


  1. Sort the list by clicking the “Last Modified” header twice so that the most recently “Last Modified” files will appear at the top, which should be your files.
  2. Click on one of the files to highlight it, then select “Prep” (preprocess) to prepare the file for loading. This will create a duplicate file of the same name with a new suffix, .lmarc.  Note that if there are errors in the file, this is a good place to catch them.

    1. Double-click the file to open it.
    2. Select Start at the bottom of the page.
    3. Check total records to see that they match, then select “Close” at the top right.
    4. Continue doing this until you have preprocessed all the original .lfts files.

 

Loading the Files

  1. When you have finished processing all of the original files, highlight one of the new files with .lmarc extension then select “Load” at the top right.
  2. On the Load Actions menu, select “(6)  Load 360MARC records.”

 

 

  1. When you are ready, select “Test” to test the loading of the file. This will take a while, and will take longer the larger the file size. If the screen freezes, the task is still running so wait a while to let it finish.

    1. The number of bib and item records created should match. At the end, it will show how many titles will be overlaid/created.
    2. If there are errors, investigate where the error occurred and attempt to fix the original .mrc file with MarcEdit, then try the process again. (Start and Stop block can be used to test only a few records rather than the whole load, which will reduce the test processing time.)

  2. If there are no errors, proceed with the load by selecting “Load.”
    1. If errors were caught before, there should be none here, but check the error count to be sure.
    2. Record the load statistics on the “Vendor Supplied Records” Excel spreadsheet in the “Record Loads” folder of the Cataloging drive. There is a separate tab for 360 Monographs.

  3. Repeat the above steps for each file of records to be loaded.

  4. Highlight the load files when you are finished and delete them using the “Delete” button at the top right, unless they are needed for error logs or troubleshooting.

Deleting Rrecords through Create List

Monthly Update Files

The 360 bibs from the “deleted” 360MARC file will be automatically marked for deletion (BCODE3 changed to “d”) as part of the load cycle, but bibs cannot be deleted as part of the automatic deletion process that occurs so long as there are item records attached to them.  Item records for these bibs will need to be deleted manually since they are not deleted during the 360 MARC loads.

  1. Navigate to Create List and find a list large enough to accommodate the number of delete records you just loaded.
  2. Create an item list of the records that must be deleted. Use these criteria:

    BIBLIOGRAPHIC MARC Tag 035 has  "wasess" AND BIBLIOGRAPHIC MAT TYPE equal to "3" AND BIBLIOGRAPHIC BCODE3 equal to  "d"  AND BIBLIOGRAPHIC LINKED REC exists to ITEM

  3. Use Delete Records to remove the item records in your list. Make certain you choose the option to delete item records only, and not the bibs to which they are attached. (If you do not have permissions for this, ask your supervisor.)

Full Refresh

Titles that did not overlay with an updated record must be deleted, both bibs and items.

  1. Navigate to Create List and find a list large enough to accommodate the number of records in the set.
  2. Create a list of the bib records that must be marked for deletion. Use these criteria:

    BIBLIOGRAPHIC BCODE3 equal to "j" AND BIBLIOGRAPHIC MAT TYPE equal to "3" AND BIBLIOGRAPHIC UPDATED less than [Load date of the new full set]

  3. Use Global Update to change BCODE3 to "d" for "delete." (If you do not have permissions for this, ask your supervisor.)
  4. Next create an item list against your bib list using the following criterion:

    BIBLIOGRAPHIC BCODE3 equal to  "d"

  5. Use Delete Records to remove the item records in your list. Make certain you choose the option to delete item records only, and not the bibs to which they are attached. (If you do not have permissions for this, ask your supervisor.)

360 Record Maintenance

URL Maintenance

In the case of broken links or missing/incorrect content, follow these procedures:

  1. If the bib record has multiple links and some still connect, simply remove the 856 field(s) for the broken link(s).

  2. If the broken link is the only 856 in the record, or all links in a record are broken, change the BCODE3 to "n" to suppress the bib record. It should be be overlaid by a subsequent Delete file and eventually removed from Sierra.

  3. Report the problem record by creating a LibAnswers ticket. The easiest way to do this is to send an e-mail to libweb@uark.edu. Someone who works regularly with 360 and Serials Solutions will investigate and open a ticket at Ex Libris if need be.