StaffGuide: Cataloging and Acquisitions

Using Location Codes in Alma Holdings Records

Values from the following two columns of the location codes table should be entered in the 852 field of Alma holdings records:

  • Alma Library Code = 852 $b (Sublocation or collection)

  • Alma Location Code = 852 $c (Shelving location)

Note: Some location codes (including "inter") are no longer valid but were required for the migration. The table will be further notated as time permits.

Location Codes Table

Sierra Location Code Sierra Location Description Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name
s SER MULN MAIN ACQMAINSER Main Acquisitions Serials
u SPEC MULN MAIN ACQMAINSP Main Acquisitions Special Collections
inter Internet Resource MAIN INTER Internet Resource (no longer in use)
acq Acquisitions MAIN MAINACQ Acquisitions
auto Automation MAIN MAINAUTO Automation
bind Binding MAIN MAINBIND Binding
cat Cataloging MAIN MAINCAT Cataloging
catrf Cataloging Reference MAIN MAINCATRF Cataloging Reference
cmpct Compact Storage MAIN MAINCMPCT Compact Storage
main Main Library MAIN MAINCOLL Main Stacks
deano Dean's Office MAIN MAINDEANO Dean's Office
    MAIN MAINDIS Main Display
dist Distance Services MAIN MAINDIST Distance Services
equip Mullins Help Desk MAIN MAINEQUIP Mullins Help Desk2
govcm Government Documents Compact MAIN MAINGOVCM Government Documents Compact
govcs Government Documents Census MAIN MAINGOVCS Government Documents Census
govct Government Documents Reference Compact Storage MAIN MAINGOVCT Government Documents Reference Compact Storage
govod Multimedia-Gov Docs CD-ROM MAIN MAINGOVOD Multimedia-Gov Docs CD-ROM
govof Government Documents Office MAIN MAINGOVOF Government Documents Office
govrf Government Documents Reference MAIN MAINGOVRF Government Documents Reference
ill Interlibrary Loan MAIN MAINILL Interlibrary Loan
lisa Library Annex MAIN MAINLISA Library Annex  LISA
lrc Children's Literature Collection MAIN MAINLRC Children's Literature Collection
lrcbi Children's Literature Collection Biographies MAIN MAINLRCBI Children's Literature Collection Biographies
lrccb Children's Literature Collection Chapter Books MAIN MAINLRCCB Children's Literature Collection Chapter Books
    MAIN MAINLRCDIS Children's Literature Collection Display
lrcer Children's Literature Collection Early Readers MAIN MAINLRCER Children's Literature Collection Early Readers
lrcgn Children's Literature Collection Graphic Novels MAIN MAINLRCGN Children's Literature Collection Graphic Novels
lrcnf Children's Literature Collection Non-fiction MAIN MAINLRCNF Children's Literature Collection Non-fiction
lrcov Children's Literature Collection Oversized MAIN MAINLRCOV Children's Literature Collection Oversized
lrcp Children's Literature Collection Periodicals MAIN MAINLRCP Children's Literature Collection Periodicals
lrcpb Children's Literature Collection Picture Books MAIN MAINLRCPB Children's Literature Collection Picture Books
lrctt Children's Literature Collection Traditional Tales MAIN MAINLRCTT Children's Literature Collection Traditional Tales
lrcya Children's Literature Collection Young Adult MAIN MAINLRCYA Children's Literature Collection Young Adult
map Multimedia-Map Cases MAIN MAINMAP Multimedia-Map Cases
mapc Multimedia-Map Cases MAIN MAINMAP Multimedia-Map Cases
mapf Multimedia-Map Filing Cabinets MAIN MAINMAPF Multimedia-Map Filing Cabinets
mapmf Multimedia-Map Filing Cabinets MAIN MAINMAPF Multimedia-Map Filing Cabinets
mapr Multimedia-Map Rolls MAIN MAINMAPR Multimedia-Map Rolls
mapsh Multimedia-Map Shelves MAIN MAINMAPSH Multimedia-Map Shelves
math Math Library in SCEN 349 MAIN MAINMATH Math Library in SCEN 349
md Multimedia Books and Scores MAIN MAINMD Multimedia Books and Scores
mdcom Multimedia Computer MAIN MAINMDCOM Multimedia Computer
mdcte Multimedia Audio Cassette MAIN MAINMDCTE Multimedia Audio Cassette
mdaud Multimedia Desk MAIN MAINMDDESK Multimedia Desk
mdcdr Multimedia Desk MAIN MAINMDDESK Multimedia Desk
pergu Multimedia Desk MAIN MAINMDDESK Multimedia Desk
pers Multimedia Desk MAIN MAINMDDESK Multimedia Desk
    MAIN MAINMDDIS Multimedia Display
mddvd Multimedia DVD MAIN MAINMDDVD Multimedia DVD
mddvo Multimedia DVD Oversized MAIN MAINMDDVO Multimedia DVD Oversized
mdeqp Multimedia Equipment MAIN MAINMDEQP Multimedia Equipment
mdkit Multimedia Kits MAIN MAINMDKIT Multimedia Kits
mdlp Multimedia LP Records MAIN MAINMDLP Multimedia LP Records
mdov Multimedia Oversized Scores MAIN MAINMDOV Multimedia Oversized Scores
mdref Multimedia Reference MAIN MAINMDREF Multimedia Reference
mdrs1 Multimedia Reserve 2 Hour MAIN MAINMDRS1 Multimedia Reserve 2 Hour
mdrs2 Multimedia Reserve 4 Hour MAIN MAINMDRS2 Multimedia Reserve 4 Hour
mdrs3 Multimedia Reserve 2 Hour Overnight MAIN MAINMDRS3 Multimedia Reserve 2 Hour Overnight
mdrs4 Multimedia Reserve 1 Day MAIN MAINMDRS4 Multimedia Reserve 1 Day
mdrs5 Multimedia Reserve 2 Day MAIN MAINMDRS5 Multimedia Reserve 2 Day
mdsl Multimedia Slides MAIN MAINMDSL Multimedia Slides
mdvid Multimedia Video Cassettes MAIN MAINMDVID Multimedia Video Cassettes
mficc Multimedia Microfiche Book MAIN MAINMFICC Multimedia Microfiche Book
mfich Multimedia Microfiche MAIN MAINMFICH Multimedia Microfiche
mfilm Multimedia Microfilm MAIN MAINMFILM Multimedia Microfilm
micro Multimedia Opaque MAIN MAINMICRO Multimedia Opaque
ov Main Library Oversized MAIN MAINOV Main Library Oversized
ovfl Main Library Oversized Flat MAIN MAINOVFL Main Library Oversized Flat
per Multimedia-Periodicals MAIN MAINPER Multimedia-Periodicals
percm Multimedia-Compact MAIN MAINPERCM Multimedia-Compact
pereq Multimedia-Equipment MAIN MAINPEREQ Multimedia-Equipment
pres Preservation Office MAIN MAINPRES Preservation Office
none   MAIN MAINPROB Main Problem location from Migration
usdod Multimedia-U.S. Documents CD-ROM MAIN MAINPROB Main Problem location from Migration
west West Print Repository MAIN MAINPROB Main Problem location from Migration
zzzzz zzzz MAIN MAINPROB Main Problem location from Migration
prscm Preservation Compact Range 13 MAIN MAINPRSCM Preservation Compact Range 13
ref Reference Collection MAIN MAINREF Reference Collection
atlas Reference Atlas Case MAIN MAINREFATL Reference Atlas Case
refcr Reference Test Prep MAIN MAINREFCR Reference Test Prep
refd Mullins Help Desk MAIN MAINREFD Mullins Help Desk
refds Reference Dictionary Stand MAIN MAINREFDS Reference Dictionary Stand
refma Reference Map Cases MAIN MAINREFMA Reference Map Cases
refod Reference Collection CD-ROMs MAIN MAINREFOD Reference Collection CD-ROMs
res Main Reserves 2 Hour in Library Use MAIN MAINRES Main Reserves 2 Hour in Library Use
res1 Main Reserves 2 Hour in Library Use MAIN MAINRES1 Main Reserves 2 Hour in Library Use1
res2 Main Reserves 2 Hours MAIN MAINRES2 Main Reserves 2 Hours
res3 Main Reserves 1 Day MAIN MAINRES3 Main Reserves 1 Day
res7 Reference Reserve MAIN MAINRES30 Main Reserves 30 Days
res4 Main Reserves 2 Days MAIN MAINRES4 Main Reserves 2 Days
res6 Main Reserves 2 Hour in Library Use MAIN MAINRES6 Main Reserves 2 Hour in Library Use6
res5 Main Reserves 7 Days MAIN MAINRES7 Main Reserves 7 Days
ser Serials MAIN MAINSER Serials
storc Library Annex Cabinets MAIN MAINSTORC Library Annex Cabinets
stord Library Annex Cabinets Documents MAIN MAINSTORD Library Annex Cabinets Documents
storl Children's Literature Collection Library Annex MAIN MAINSTORL Children's Literature Collection Library Annex
stor Library Annex MAIN MAINSTORM Library Annex
storm Library Annex MAIN MAINSTORM Library Annex
storu Library Annex US Documents MAIN MAINSTORU Library Annex US Documents
maina Main UofA Collection MAIN MAINUA Main UofA Collection
usark U.S. Documents Arkansas Documents MAIN MAINUSARK U.S. Documents Arkansas Documents
usdc U.S. Documents Compact Storage MAIN MAINUSDCM U.S. Documents Compact Storage
usdfc Multimedia-U.S. Documents Microfiche MAIN MAINUSDFC Multimedia-U.S. Documents Microfiche
usdma Multimedia-U.S. Documents Maps MAIN MAINUSDMA Multimedia-U.S. Documents Maps
usdoc U.S. Documents MAIN MAINUSDOC U.S. Documents
usdov U.S. Documents Oversized MAIN MAINUSDOV U.S. Documents Oversized

 

Sierra Location Code Sierra Location Description Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name
cbl Crystal Bridges Library CB CBMS Crystal Bridges Library Main Stacks
cbms Crystal Bridges Library Main Stacks CB CBMS Crystal Bridges Library Main Stacks
cbq Crystal Bridges Oversize CB CBQ Crystal Bridges Oversize
cbss Crystal Bridges Secure Stacks CB CBSS Crystal Bridges Secure Stacks
cbv Crystal Bridges Library CB CBV Crystal Bridges Library by Appointment

 

Sierra Location Code Sierra Location Description Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name
chem Chemistry and Biochemistry Library CHEM CHEMCOLL Chemistry and Biochemistry Stacks
chemd Chemistry and Biochemistry Optical Disks CHEM CHEMOD Chemistry and Biochemistry Optical Disks
chemp Chemistry and Biochemistry Periodicals CHEM CHEMPER Chemistry and Biochemistry Periodicals
chemr Chemistry and Biochemistry Reference CHEM CHEMREF Chemistry and Biochemistry Reference
chrs Chemistry and Biochemistry Reserve 2 Hour CHEM CHEMRES Chemistry and Biochemistry Reserve 2 Hour
chrs1 Chemistry and Biochemistry Reserve 2 Hour Overnight CHEM CHEMRES1 Chemistry and Biochemistry Reserve 2 Hour Overnight
chrs2 Chemistry and Biochemistry Reserve 1 Day CHEM CHEMRES2 Chemistry and Biochemistry Reserve 1 Day
chrs3 Chemistry and Biochemistry Reserve 2 Day CHEM CHEMRES3 Chemistry and Biochemistry Reserve 2 Day
chert Chemistry and Biochemistry Textbooks CHEM CHEMTEXT Chemistry and Biochemistry Textbooks

 

Sierra Location Code Sierra Location Description Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name
fal Fine Arts Library FAL FALCOLL Fine Arts Stacks
falgd Fine Arts Library Gold Dots FAL FALGD Fine Arts Library Gold Dots
falgr Fine Arts Library Green Dots FAL FALGR Fine Arts Library Green Dots
falod Fine Arts Library Multimedia FAL FALOD Fine Arts Library Multimedia
falov Fine Arts library Oversized FAL FALOV Fine Arts Library Oversized
falpe Fine Arts Library Periodicals FAL FALPER Fine Arts Library Periodicals
falrd Fine Arts Library Red Dots FAL FALRD Fine Arts Library Red Dots
falrf Fine Arts Library Reference FAL FALREF Fine Arts Library Reference
fars1 Fine Arts Library 2 Hour Reserve FAL FALRES1 Fine Arts Library 2 Hour Reserve
fars2 Fine Arts Library 2 Hour Overnight Reserve FAL FALRES2 Fine Arts Library 2 Hour Overnight Reserve
fars3 Fine Arts Library Reserve 1 Day FAL FALRES3 Fine Arts Library Reserve 1 Day
fars4 Fine Arts Library Reserve 2 Day FAL FALRES4 Fine Arts Library Reserve 2 Day
fars5 Fine Arts Library Reserve 7 Day FAL FALRES5 Fine Arts Library Reserve 7 Day

 

Sierra Location Code Sierra Location Description Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name
lawad Law Arkansas Depository Documents LAW LAWAD Law Arkansas Depository Documents
lawag Law Agricultural Law Collection LAW LAWAG Law Agricultural Law Collection
lawas Law Arkansas Superceded Statutes LAW LAWAS Law Arkansas Superceded Statutes
lawav Law Audio/Video Room LAW LAWAV Law Audio/Video Room
law Law Library Stacks LAW LAWCOLL Law Library Stacks
lawcr Law Course Reserves LAW LAWCR Law Course Reserves
lawcs Law Compact Shelving LAW LAWCS Law Compact Shelving
    LAW LAWDISPLAY Law Display
lawdo Law Dean's Office LAW LAWDO Law Dean's Office
lawdr Law Library Director's Office LAW LAWDR Law Library Director's Office
lawfd Law Federal Depository Documents LAW LAWFD Law Federal Depository Documents
lawfl Law Faculty Library LAW LAWFL Law Faculty Library
lawfm Law Federal Microform LAW LAWFM Law Federal Microform
lawi Law Indigenous Collection LAW LAWI Law Indigenous Collection
lawit Law IT LAW LAWIT Law IT
lawlc Law Legal Clinic LAW LAWLC Law Legal Clinic
lawlr Law Arkansas Law Review LAW LAWLR Law Arkansas Law Review
lawmf Law Microforms LAW LAWMF Law Microforms
lawpe Law Periodicals LAW LAWPE Law Periodicals
lawpl Law Placement LAW LAWPL Law Placement
lawpo Law Professor's Office LAW LAWPO Law Professor's Office
lawpr Law Preservation and Archives LAW LAWPR Law Preservation and Archives
lawao Law Ncalri Offices LAW LAWPROB Law Problem location from Migration
lawdc Law Dean's Conference LAW LAWPROB Law Problem location from Migration
lawer Law Electronic Reserves LAW LAWPROB Law Problem location from Migration
lawtc Law Tobacco Control Center LAW LAWPROB Law Problem location from Migration
lawrd Law Reference Desk LAW LAWREF Law Reference Desk
lawrf Law Reference LAW LAWRF Law Reference
lawrs Law Reserve LAW LAWRS Law Reserve
lawsh Law First Floor Locked Stacks LAW LAWSH Law First Floor Locked Stacks
lawts Law Technical Services LAW LAWTS Law Technical Services

 

Sierra Location Code Sierra Location Description Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name
phys Physics Library
PHYS
PHYSCOLL Physics Stacks
physd Physics CDRom Materials
PHYS
PHYSD Physics CD-ROM Materials
physo Physics Oversized
PHYS
PHYSO Physics Oversized
physp Physics Periodicals
PHYS
PHYSP Physics Periodicals
physr Physics Reference
PHYS
PHYSR Physics Reference
phrs Physics Reserve 2 Hour
PHYS
PHYSRES Physics Reserve 2 Hour
phrs1 Physics Reserve 2 Hour Overnight
PHYS
PHYSRES1 Physics Reserve 2 Hour Overnight
phrs2 Physics Test Preparation
PHYS
PHYSRES2 Physics Test Preparation
phrs3 Physics Reserve 2 Day
PHYS
PHYSRES3 Physics Reserve 2 Day

 

Sierra Location Code Sierra Location Description Alma Library Code Alma Location Code Alma Location Name
lisas Special Collections Storage SPCO MAINLISAS Special Collections Storage
spco Special Collections SPCO SPCO Special Collections
spabc Special Collections Artists Books Collection SPCO SPCOABC Special Collections Artists Books Collection
arkco Arkansas Collection SPCO SPCOARCO Arkansas Collection
arcoo Arkansas Collection Cookbooks SPCO SPCOARCOO Arkansas Collection Cookbooks
arkfl Arkansas Collection Oversized Flat SPCO SPCOARFL Arkansas Collection Oversized Flat
arhw2 Arkansas Collection Highway Maps 2 SPCO SPCOARHW2 Arkansas Collection Highway Maps 2
arhwy Arkansas Collection Highway Maps SPCO SPCOARHWY Arkansas Collection Highway Maps
arkma Arkansas Collection Maps SPCO SPCOARMA Arkansas Collection Maps
armov Arkansas Collection Oversized Maps SPCO SPCOARMOV Arkansas Collection Oversized Maps
armr Arkansas Collection Rolled Maps SPCO SPCOARMR Arkansas Collection Rolled Maps
arkod Arkansas Collection Media SPCO SPCOAROD Arkansas Collection Media
arkov Arkansas Collection Oversized SPCO SPCOAROV Arkansas Collection Oversized
arkzn Arkansas Collection Zines SPCO SPCOARZN Arkansas Collection Zines
spmf Special Collections Atlas Case SPCO SPCOATLAS Special Collections Atlas Case
spbal Special Collections Bales Collection SPCO SPCOBAL Special Collections Bales Collection
spbrd Special Collections Broadside Collection SPCO SPCOBRD Special Collections Broadside Collection
spcod Special Collections Dissertations SPCO SPCOD Special Collections Dissertations
spcof Special Collections Fletcher Collection SPCO SPCOF Special Collections Fletcher Collection
spcfl Special Collections Flat SPCO SPCOFL Special Collections Flat
spfpr Special Collections Fine Press Facsimiles SPCO SPCOFPR Special Collections Fine Press Facsimiles
sphay Special Collections Hays Collection SPCO SPCOHAY Special Collections Hays Collection
spcom Special Collections Maps SPCO SPCOM Special Collections Maps
spma Special Collections Arkansas Maps SPCO SPCOMA Special Collections Arkansas Maps
spmer Special Collections John King Thomas Merton Collection SPCO SPCOMER Special Collections John King Thomas Merton Collection
spcmf Special Collections Microfilm SPCO SPCOMF Special Collections Microfilm
spmh Special Collections Historic Maps SPCO SPCOMH Special Collections Historic Maps
spmov Special Collections Oversized Maps SPCO SPCOMOV Special Collections Oversized Maps
spcmw Special Collections Commonwealth College Library SPCO SPCOMW Special Collections Commonwealth College Library
spcoo Special Collections Owen Collection SPCO SPCOO Special Collections Owen Collection
spcov Special Collections Oversized SPCO SPCOOV Special Collections Oversized
spovm Special Collections Oversized SPCO SPCOOV Special Collections Oversized
sppao Special Collections Porter Pathfinder Flat SPCO SPCOPAO Special Collections Porter Pathfinder Flat
sppat Special Collections Porter Pathfinder Collection SPCO SPCOPAT Special Collections Porter Pathfinder Collection
spcor Special Collections Rare Books SPCO SPCOR Special Collections Rare Books
spcrf Special Collections Reference SPCO SPCORF Special Collections Reference
sprfl Special Collections Rare Books Flat SPCO SPCORFL Special Collections Rare Books Flat
spros Special Collections Ross Collection SPCO SPCOROS Special Collections Ross Collection
sprov Special Collections Rare Books Oversized SPCO SPCOROV Special Collections Rare Books Oversized
sprus Special Collections Russell Collection SPCO SPCORUS Special Collections Russell Collection
stora Arkansas Collection Library Annex SPCO SPCOSTORA Arkansas Collection Library Annex
storf Special Collections Library Annex Cabinets SPCO SPCOSTORF Special Collections Library Annex Cabinets
stors Special Collections SPCO SPCOSTORS Special Collections STORS
stort Special Collections Library Annex Temporary SPCO SPCOSTORT Special Collections Library Annex Temporary
storv Special Collections Library Annex SPCO SPCOSTORV Special Collections Library Annex
storz Special Collections Library Annex Closed SPCO SPCOSTORZ Special Collections Library Annex Closed
spcot Special Collections Theses SPCO SPCOT Special Collections Theses
spctm Special Collections Theses Maps SPCO SPCOTM Special Collections Theses Maps
uarch University Archives SPCO SPCOUARCH University Archives
spupc Special Collections University of Arkansas Press Collection SPCO SPCOUPC Special Collections University of Arkansas Press Collection
spupr Special Collections University of Arkansas Press Collection - Reading Room SPCO SPCOUPR Special Collections University of Arkansas Press Collection - Reading Room
spcva Special Collections Vault SPCO SPCOVAULT Special Collections Vault
spwom Special Collections Women's Library SPCO SPCOWOMEN Special Collections Women's Library