Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: Women and Health

About this Collection

Women and Health

About

Collects materials from all over the country, including professional journals and underground alternative newspapers, as well as research papers, theses, speeches, leaflets, etc. Covers 1968-1974

Location

Library Annex Cabinets RG 121 W64

Format

Microfilm

Arrangement

Divided into seven sections:

physical and mental health of women
physical and mental illnesses of women
biology, women, and the life cycle
birth and population control
sex and sexuality
minority and third world women and health
special issues of mass periodicals

Items

14 reels

Publication

Women's History Research Center, 1974

Indexes and Guides

Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Women and Health Collection by Women's History Research Center
Call Number: Library Annex LISA ; RG121 .W64
Publication Date: 1975
Offers subject access. The subject headings for the most part follow the medical headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine at the time. Each heading has a file classification number (which reveals the broad subject category as explained in the guide's introduction) and a reel and position number.

Online Options

The archives of the Women's History Research Center moved to the University of Wyoming's American Heritage Center. There is no one digital equivalent of these periodicals as a collection. Some titles appear in the resources listed below; you can also search by periodical title at the Internet Archive or in Google.

Independent Voices
Covers: 1960s - 1980s. "An Open Access Collection of the Alternative Press." that chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Provides more than 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries, including the University of Arkansas. Includes the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.

Internet Archive Zine Collection
The Internet Archive is a non-profit, that is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. The Zine collection of the Internet Archive cover a wide range of topics.