Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: Reports of Explorations Printed in the Documents of the U.S. Government

About this Collection

Reports of Explorations Printed in the Documents of the U.S. Government

About: Based on the 1899 Reports of Explorations Printed in the Documents of the United States Government, compiled by Adelaide Hasse, this collection consists of 554 reports from agencies such as the Treasury Department, the Hydrographic Office, the Census Bureau, the Navy, and the Army's Corps of Topographical Engineers, and many others. These reports cover a wide range of topics: topography, botany, zoology, geology, Native Americans, transportation, anthropology, and hydrology. Most of the expeditions were made under government auspices.
Location: Library Annex Cabinets Q 115 .R74
Format: Microfilm
Arrangement: Arranged in a numeric sequence based on author or title.
Items: 72 reels
Publication: Research Publications, 1971

Indexes and Guides

Reports of Explorations Printed in the Documents of the United States Government by Hasse, Adelaide R.
Call Number: Library Annex LISA ; Q115 .R74

Publication Date: 1899; guide published 1971

Lists contents by author or, if the item has no author, by title, providing reel and item numbers. Also online at Google Books. https://books.google.com/books?id=lE8UAAAAYAAJ

Online Options

These titles are in the public domain and can be found in HathiTrust, Google Books, or the Internet Archive or in our collections of government documents.

American State Papers Online
The American State Papers include largely Congressional as well as Executive materials dating from 1789 to 1838.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Covers: 1817-1980. The 'Serial Set' refers to the bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
HathiTrust
The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
HathiTrust (Open Access Version)
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.

This link provides access to HathiTrust for anyone without requiring authentication. You will be able to download books and periodicals one page at a time. If you are a U of A student, faculty, or staff member, please use our customized link to HathiTrust.
Google Books
A growing collection of records for both recent and long out-of-print titles. Because a search may retrieve results from the full-text of many books, Google Books is most useful in helping you to identify titles of interest in your research. A number of popular magazines and government documents have also been added to the Google Books service.