Research Guides: Microform Research Sets: NTIS (National Technical Information Service) Documents

About this Collection

NTIS (National Technical Information Service) Documents

About: NTIS was founded to collect and disseminate technical reports produced by, under the auspices of, or funded by various branches of the federal government. While today these publications are indexed and distributed through the NTIS web site, the Libraries have a small collection of earlier materials on microfiche. Most of the microfiche items held by the Libraries date from the period prior to 1980 and are from the series AD, AD-A, COM, PB, PB80, and PB81.
Location: Library Annex Cabinets Documents
Format: Microfiche
Arrangement: Arranged by NTIS number.
Items: several hundred fiche
Publication: United States National Technical Information Service

Indexes and Guides

Our NTIS documents are not cataloged in OneSearch. Use the NTIS Reports server to identify items of interest and then Ask Us for help in requesting them from the Library Annex.

NTRL National Technical Reports Library
Covers: 1900-; with most digitized reports dating from the 1990s. Provides access to the results of U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering, plus analyses prepared by federal agencies, their contractors, or grantees.

Online Options

Documents nor found in NTRL may be available from HathiTrust or the TRAIL project.

NTRL National Technical Reports Library
Covers: 1900-; with most digitized reports dating from the 1990s. Provides access to the results of U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering, plus analyses prepared by federal agencies, their contractors, or grantees.
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library
Covers: 1950s-. A collaboration of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) member libraries to identify, digitize, archive, and provide access to federal technical reports.
HathiTrust
The University Libraries are members of HathiTrust; U o fA students, faculty and staff can now download complete works and take advantage of other features, including building and sharing collections of works. Read more on our HathiTrust Guide.
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.
HathiTrust (Open Access Version)
A collaborative archive of digitized books and periodicals. Most books that can be read full-text online were published prior to 1923 but there are a large number of government documents, including very recent Congressional reports and hearings.

This link provides access to HathiTrust for anyone without requiring authentication. You will be able to download books and periodicals one page at a time. If you are a U of A student, faculty, or staff member, please use our customized link to HathiTrust.