StaffGuide: CONTENTdm Cookbook

Recipes for Metadata Entry for the University of Arkansas Libraries

General Project Guidelines

Extent of metadata

It is very important for everyone involved with a metadata creation project to have at outset a clear understanding of the extent of metadata that should be created for any particular project. A happy medium can be struck between too much detail and not enough detail. Time commitments and timeframes for completion of a project can also guide the extent of the information gathered for a particular project. 

Digital projects participants

For each digital project, personnel will be identified, assigned, and included from the outset of the project, according to the anticipated needs of the particular project. It is recommended that all personnel who will be involved at any stage of the project (including a representative from the Metadata Cookbook Committee) convene for an introductory meeting and general discussion of the parameters of the project. The project manager will then tap personnel as their expertise is required to complete the various stages of the project.  

  • Administrator (department head, etc.) responsible for the collection(s) involved in the project
  • Project manager
  • Items selector
  • Content specialist
  • Permissions and rights coordinator
  • Scanning specialist
  • Controlled vocabulary/Metadata cataloger
  • Transcriber
  • Translator
  • Data inputter
  • Software and systems set-up coordinator
  • CONTENTdm configuration tools manager
  • Website author
  • Website designer
  • Metadata Cookbook Committee representative

Workflow

The following major steps are typically included in any digital project. Many tasks will be underway simultaneously. 

Overall

  • Identify personnel and their roles for project
  • Convene meeting of all personnel involved in the project
  • Determine topic/scope/scale of the project
  • Develop timetable for project completion

Items for scanning

  • Research and select items to be included
  • Secure copyright permissions
  • Review digitization specifications and scan items according to parameters determined for project

Technical issues

  • Establish the project on server and confirm computer, software, permissions needs
  • Set up CONTENTdm project parameters

Metadata

  • Establish metadata fields and standards, review data dictionary, and customize as needed for the project
  • Establish controlled vocabulary and/or keywords
  • Do metadata entry
  • Create transcript (OCR)
  • Create translations
  • Edit/Proofread text and translations
  • Edit and review metadata
  • Finalize metadata
  • Finalize files and upload into CONTENTdm

Website

  • Create website design
  • Write text for website
  • Configure CONTENTdm database using CONTENTdm Config Tools
  • Provide relevant links

Discoverability enhancements

  • Create collection-level catalog record
  • Add to OCLC WorldCat through Digital Collection Gateway
  • Add to OCLC ArchiveGrid
  • Add to CONTENTdm’s Collection of Collections

Project completion and roll-out

  • Approvals given for going “live”
  • Project funders notified
  • Press release and other publicity created

Approval (sign-off) on completed digital projects

The following need to review and approve the digital project before it goes “live” to the public:

  • Digital project manager
  • Head of department
  • Head of technical services
  • Dean of libraries

Publicity about digital projects

A draft press release or announcement will be written by the project manager, with the assistance of the content specialist for the project. Others who will review and approve the communiqué are:

  • Head of department
  • Library publicity coordinator
  • Assistant to the dean
  • Dean of libraries

The Library publicity coordinator will handle distribution of press releases and other publicity regarding the project and will coordinate with communications directors of institutions that may be collaborating on the project. 


Specific Guidelines

Templates

Create and use templates whenever possible to avoid unnecessary duplicate keying in of information.

Context

Determine the context of a collection at the outset of a metadata project. For example, is the collection a “collection of postcards” or a “collection of correspondence on postcards?” In the former, the Creator would be the photographer, if the name is provided; the Contributor would be the photographic studio. In the latter, the Creator would be the person writing the correspondence on the postcard; the Contributor would be the photographer and/or the photographic studio and/or postcard company (H & H Postcard Co.)   

For classical music, the Creator would be the composer and Contributors would be the conductor and orchestra members, whereas in jazz music, the members of the combo might be considered the Creator(s). 

For plays, the playwright (and the director and set designer) would be considered the Creator(s), whereas the actors would be considered Contributor(s).  

QuickGuides

Use QuickGuides for types of images:

  • Photographs
  • Text Documents

Other QuickGuides may be developed as needed to cover handwritten letters and other handwritten items, architectural drawings and photographs, drawings, and scrapbooks.     

h3>Templates

Create and use templates whenever possible to avoid unnecessary duplicate keying in of information.

Context

Determine the context of a collection at the outset of a metadata project. For example, is the collection a “collection of postcards” or a “collection of correspondence on postcards?” In the former, the Creator would be the photographer, if the name is provided; the Contributor would be the photographic studio. In the latter, the Creator would be the person writing the correspondence on the postcard; the Contributor would be the photographer and/or the photographic studio and/or postcard company (H & H Postcard Co.)   

For classical music, the Creator would be the composer and Contributors would be the conductor and orchestra members, whereas in jazz music, the members of the combo might be considered the Creator(s). 

For plays, the playwright (and the director and set designer) would be considered the Creator(s), whereas the actors would be considered Contributor(s).  

QuickGuides

Use QuickGuides for types of images:

  • Photographs
  • Text Documents

Other QuickGuides may be developed as needed to cover handwritten letters and other handwritten items, architectural drawings and photographs, drawings, and scrapbooks.     

Keywords

If Subjects (controlled vocabulary) is not used, Keywords must be used. Whenever possible, the names of people, organizations, and places will match the form established in the Library of Congress Name Authority file (LCNAF). The linked data version is available at http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names.html.  (The approved term is always the one that is bold or hyperlinked).

A cumulating keyword list of terms that are local or customized to UA will be established in CONTENTdm for use across digital projects. An external file of same will also be maintained for inputters working on/from spreadsheets. 

When a new term is needed, the inputter should contact the content specialist or project manager, who will confer with the project cataloger(s) who are assigned to the project.   

Type (AAT)

The optional Type (AAT) element may be used along with the required Type element to provide fuller information about the kind of object being digitized. Use one or more terms from the Art and Architecture Thesaurus list. (Parenthetical qualifiers have been omitted unless needed to distinguish between two otherwise identical terms.)  Definitions for terms may be found in the AAT online at http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabularies/aat/. If additional terms are needed, consult the project cataloger(s) and the project manager.  Also, the project manager may decide at the outset to limit use of the list to just a subset of the terms; if so, these should be documented for staff performing data entry.