StaffGuide: CONTENTdm Cookbook

Recipes for Metadata Entry for the University of Arkansas Libraries

Relation

Field Name: Relation is the default.  However, custom-tailored field names (Related Work, Required Software, etc.) may be appropriate for an individual collection.
Requirement: Optional
Repeatable: No  (although there could be multiple Relation fields with each field serving a separate purpose, using one or more Refinements listed below)
Search: Yes (determined by needs of each project and the type of information entered into each field)
Hide: No
Vocabulary: No
Dublin Core (DC) Mapping: dc.relation
MARC Mapping: 787 [0 ] $n
CONTENTdm Data Type: Text
Dublin Core Definition: A related resource. Recommended best practice is to identify the related resource by means of a string conforming to a formal identification system.
UA Definition: A resource that is somehow connected or related to, or its use of, the resource being described. This definition may be expanded as local practice develops over time.
Usage:

Use this field to record such information as related titles, different versions of the resource, names of software needed to use the resource, etc.  Use the general “dc.relation” only when none of the more specific refinements listed below are appropriate.

When recording relationship statements, include information sufficient for a user to identify, locate, or cite the related resource.  Refer to other fields such as Title, Description, Original Publisher, etc., for instructions about entering data.

It is possible that the resource being described might be related to one or more resources in a variety of ways.  In such cases, a separate Relation element along with a clarifying element name (and appropriate refinement) should be used to record each type of relationship (e.g., “Required Software,” “Is Referenced By,” etc.). 

If multiple values are appropriate for a single relationship type (e.g., more than one software package is needed to use the resource), enter them in the same field, separated by a semicolon space.

Refinements

Note that with the exception of “Is Part Of,” “Is Referenced By,” and “Requires,” it is anticipated that the use of these refinements for UA collections would likely be rare.  Default field labels are listed, but these may be customized.

  • Conforms To. An established standard to which the described resource conforms.
    • Label: Conforms To
    • DC Map: dc.relation.conformsTo
    • MARC Map:  787 [08] $n with $i=Conforms to
  • Has Format. A related resource that is substantially the same as the pre-existing described resource, but in another format.
    • Label: Has Format
    • DC Map: dc.relation.hasFormat
    • MARC Map: 776 [08] $n
  • Has Part. A related resource that is included either physically or logically in the described resource.
    • Label: Has Part
    • DC Map: dc.relation.hasPart
    • MARC Map:  774 [08] $n
  • Has Version. A related resource that is a version, edition, or adaptation of the described resource.
    • Label: Has Version
    • DC Map: dc.relation.hasVersion
    • MARC Map:  775 [08] $n
  • Is Format Of. A related resource that is substantially the same as the described resource, but in another format.
    • Label: Is Format Of
    • DC Map: dc.relation.isFormatOf
    • MARC Map:  776 [08] $n
  • Is Part Of. A related resource in which the described resource is physically or logically included. Examples include linking from an excerpt to the entire item, if digitized, or linking to another collection when the item is included in multiple collections. (For linking to the same item in another collection, use dc.relation without refinement.)
    • Label: Is Part Of
    • DC Map: dc.relation.isPartOf
    • MARC Map: 773 [08] $n or $t
  • Is Referenced By. A related resource that references, cites, or otherwise points to the described resource.
    • Label: Is Referenced By
    • DC Map: dc.relation.isReferencedBy
    • MARC Map:  510 [0 ] $a
  • Is Replaced By. A related resource that supplants, displaces, or supersedes the described resource.
    • Label: Is Replaced By
    • DC Map: dc.relation.isReplacedBy
    • MARC Map:  785 [00] $n
  • Is Required By. A related resource that requires the described resource to support its function, delivery, or coherence.
    • Label: Is Required By
    • DC Map: dc.relation.isRequiredBy
    • MARC Map:  787 [08] $n with $i=Is required by
  • Is Version Of. A related resource of which the described resource is a version, edition, or adaptation. Changes in version imply substantive changes in content rather than differences in format.
    • Label: Is Version Of
    • DC Map: dc.relation.isVersionOf
    • MARC Map:  775 [08] $n
  • References. A related resource that is referenced, cited, or otherwise pointed to by the described resource.
    • Label: References
    • DC Map: dc.relation.references
    • MARC Map:  787 [08] $n with $i=References
  • Replaces. A related resource that is supplanted, displaced, or superseded by the described resource.
    • Label: Replaces
    • DC Map: dc.relation.replaces
    • MARC Map:  780 [00] $n
  • Requires. A related resource that is required by the described resource to support its function, delivery, or coherence.
    • Label: Requires
    • DC Map: dc.relation.requires
    • MARC Map:  538 $a
Examples:

Example of dc.relation.requires

Adobe Flash

(special software is needed to open/play the digital resource)

Example of dc.relation.isReferencedBy

84

(paired with the custom field name of “Child Number” in the Ozark Folk Song collection)

Example of dc.relation.isPartOf

https://digitalcollections.uark.edu/digital/collection/Traveler

(link from a Traveler issue excerpt in the Special Collections Gallery to the collection The Arkansas Traveler Newspapers)

Example of dc.relation

https://digitalcollections.uark.edu/digital/collection/ArkBulletins/id/229

(used in the collection Annual Report (Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station) to link to the same item that is also part of Bulletin (Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station) (A link to the collection would be dc.relation.isPartOf)

Revision Date: 12/5/19