StaffGuide: CONTENTdm Cookbook

Recipes for Metadata Entry for the University of Arkansas Libraries

Photographs Quick Guide

Field Name Required Description of Field Example(s)
Title X Transcribe the title as it appears on the resource. If no title is available, create a title specific enough to identify the photo even if the photo is removed from the digital collection.

George Fisher presenting a caricature to Vice President Nelson A. Rockefeller

Student Union

Alternate Title Can be used for an expanded title if the original title is unclear or for a subtitle or alternate title. Memorial Hall
Creator(s) X (if available) The individual photographer, if known, should be considered the creator. List names as "Last name, First name" and use LCNAF if possible. Compton, Neil, 1912-
Contributor(s) X (if available) Photography studio should be given in the Contributor and/or Description fields.

Graybill Photographic Studios

University Relations

Date Record the date the photograph was taken in textual format. Record as much of the date as is known. Precede circa dates with "ca." If no date is available, leave field blank; do not enter "no date" or "unknown."

ca. 1957

June 5, 1975

Date (YYYY‐MM‐DD) X (if available) Record the date the photograph was taken formatted in W3CDTF profile of ISO 8601 (YYYY‐MM‐DD). Use as much of date as is known; if date is unknown, leave blank.

1957

1975‐06‐30

Description X A free text account of the content of the photograph. Include notes written on the photograph with the designation "On verso" for text written on the back of the photo and "On recto" for information written on the front of the photo. Charles Fisher family photograph. Eight adults and two children. George Fisher second from left. On verso: "Family of Charles Fisher at Beebe circa 1946. Rosemary [Fisher] in middle."
Notes   Use this field to record outside context about the photo not appropriate for the Description or to establish relationships to other items. George Fisher was a proponent of Arkansas folk music. He established a central Arkansas branch of the Rackensack Folklore Society in Little Rock in the mid‐1960s.
Time Period   May record a named time period (use LCSH or AAT terms) or a decade. If recording a decade, use form "1971‐1980" (not "1970‐1979").

1941‐1950

Nineteen twenties
 
Location   May record the geographic location where the photograph was taken. Use terms from a published vocabulary (consult with Cataloging).

Fayetteville (Ark.)

Ozark Mountains
 

Subjects Work with catalogers to define a list of terms from a published vocabulary, such as LCSH. Subjects are recommended. Folk music‐‐Arkansas
Keywords Keywords are required if Subjects are not used. A local vocabulary should be established for each project (consult with Cataloging). Folk music
Type (AAT) Use terms drawn from the Art and Architecture Thesaurus.

black‐and‐white photographs

color photographs

Medium Record important characteristics of the physical object; use in conjunction with Type (AAT) element. Alternately, include this information in the Description element. silver gelatin print
Extent Record the dimensions of the photograph in format "height x width." If photograph is standard size, use standard notation: 3 1/2 x 5, 4 x 6, 5 x 7, 8 x 10 followed by "inches".

5 x 7 inches

7 x 4 1/2 inches
 

Source If photo has been previously published, record information on original source the photograph was published in. Can include just name of publication or full citation in Chicago style. Arkansas Times
Linked Resource X (if available)

Any time the photograph being digitized belongs to a collection with corresponding online finding aid, provide a link to the finding aid.  Additionally, provide a link for other online resources as applicable.

http://libraries.uark.edu/specialcollections/findingaids/ae_smith.html
Relation List objects related to the digital resource being described. If possible use refinements noted on worksheet, such as Is Part Of or Is Referenced By. The caricature referenced in this photograph is item 3007 in this digital collection.
Language If photograph contains text, note language spelled out (do not use abbreviation). English
Language Code X (if applicable) If the photograph contains text, include the language of the text using the appropriate three letter code. eng
Type X Always use Image; Still Image. Image; Still Image
Digital Format X File format of the digital object. Common examples for photos: image/gif, image/jp2, image/jpeg, image/tiff.

image/tiff

image/jpeg

Digital Publisher X Always use phrase in example. University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville
Original Collection X (if available) The name of the original collection to which the digitized photograph belongs. Alfred E. Smith Papers: Letters and Papers, 1920-1984
Item Location X Enter collection information needed to locate physical photograph.

Neil Compton Papers (MC 1091, Box 25, File 8, Image 117)

Image Collection 303

Rights and Reproductions X Always use phrase in example. Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17). It is the responsibility of the user to determine the rights status and secure permissions for the use of this item.
Digital Exhibit X Title of the digital project. Shared History: Fayetteville and the University of Arkansas
Identifier X File name. This will be entered automatically during ingestion; see worksheet for instructions.

MC1234Series7Box4File3Image2

IMG302FarmTurkeys
 

6/12/14 A. Allen