StaffGuide: CONTENTdm Cookbook

Recipes for Metadata Entry for the University of Arkansas Libraries

Digital Exhibit

Field Name: Digital Exhibit is the default.  However, for projects which digitize a complete collection, rather than selected items, use Digital Collection.
Requirement: Required (mandatory)
Repeatable: No (unless the resource appears in multiple collections)
Search: Yes
Hide: No
Vocabulary: Yes (Controlling will make the title searchable as a phrase)
Dublin Core (DC) Mapping: dc.relation.isPartOf
MARC Mapping: 773 [0 ] $t
CONTENTdm Data Type: Text
Dublin Core Definition: A related resource in which the described resource is physically or logically included.
UA Definition: The title of the digital project or collection; that is, the digital exhibit or collection name.
Usage:

Because this field is used to record the name of the digital project or collection to which the item belongs, it should normally contain only a single value.  The exception is resources that appear in multiple collections—in such cases, record each exhibit or collection name, separating these multiple entries with a semicolon space. 

Note that it may be appropriate to include other separately named “relation.isPartOf” elements in a project. 

When creating digital exhibit/collection titles, initial articles should be avoided (unless an acronym or integral part of the title (e.g., Los Angeles)).  When entering the digital exhibit/collection title, use title case.  That is, generally capitalize the first word and each significant word of the title and subtitle that follows, excluding articles, most conjunctions, and prepositions.

Examples:

Fruit-full Arkansas: Apples

Colonial Arkansas Post Ancestry

Spaces and Faces; University of Arkansas Photograph Collection

Revision Date: 10/23/19