StaffGuide: CONTENTdm Cookbook

Recipes for Metadata Entry for the University of Arkansas Libraries

CONTENTdm Collection Field (Element) Properties and Recommended Order ("Template")

The information below is presented to look as it does in CONTENTdm.

Current collection: Cookbook Template

Metadata fields

View and configure collection and administrative fields.

Collection field properties
View, add, edit and delete fields. Enable full text searching and controlled vocabulary. After you have added, changed, or deleted fields, index the collection to update changes.
  Field Name DC map Data type Large Search Hide Required[1] Vocab add field
1 Title Title Text No Yes No Yes No edit | delete
2 Alternate Title Title-Alternative Text No Yes No No No edit | delete
3 Creator(s) Creator Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
4 Contributor(s) Contributors Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
5 Date Date Text No No No No No edit | delete
6

Date (YYYY-MM-DD)

Date-Created Date No Yes No No No edit | delete
7 Description Description Text Yes Yes No No No edit | delete
8 Notes Description Text Yes Yes No No No edit | delete
9 Time Period Coverage-Temporal Text No Yes No No No edit | delete
10 Location Coverage-Spatial Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
11 Subjects Subject Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
12 Keywords Subject Text No Yes No No No edit | delete
13 Type (AAT) Type Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
14 Medium Format-Medium Text No No No No No edit | delete
15 Extent Format-Extent Text No No No No No edit | delete
16 Source Source Text No No No No No edit | delete
17 Linked Resource Relation-Is Referenced By Text No No No No No edit | delete
18 Relation Relation Text No No No No No edit | delete
19 Language Language Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
20 Language Code Language Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
21 Transcript Description Full Text Search Yes Yes No No No edit | delete
22 Standard Number Identifier Text No Yes No No No edit | delete
23 Type Type Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
24 Digital Format Format Text No No No No Yes edit | delete
25 Digital Publisher Publisher Text No No No No No edit | delete
26 Original Collection Relation-Is Part Of Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
27 Item Location Source Text No Yes No No No edit | delete
28

Rights and Reproductions

Rights Text No No No No No edit | delete
29 Digital Exhibit Relation-Is Part Of Text No Yes No No Yes edit | delete
30 Funded By Description Text No No No No No edit | delete
31 Identifier Identifier Text No Yes No No No edit | delete
32 Staff Notes None Text No No Yes No No edit | delete
33 Permissions None Text No No Yes No No edit | delete
34 Preservation Notes None Text No Yes Yes No No edit | delete

[1] “Required” for CONTENTdm is different from the “Requirement” in the metadata element worksheets.  In CONTENTdm, the object cannot be created if  a required field is blank.

 

Administrative fields
View and edit administrative fields (some field properties are system-defined and cannot be edited). Index the collection to update changes.
Field name DC map Data type Search Hide
Archival file None Text No Yes edit
OCLC number None Text No Yes edit
Date created None Date No Yes edit
Date modified None Date No Yes edit
CONTENTdm number None Text No Yes edit
CONTENTdm file name None Text No Yes edit