StaffGuide: CONTENTdm Cookbook

Recipes for Metadata Entry for the University of Arkansas Libraries

Rights and Reproductions

Field Name: Rights and Reproductions
Requirement: Required (mandatory)
Repeatable: No
Search: No
Hide: No
Vocabulary: No
Dublin Core (DC) Mapping: dc.rights
MARC Mapping: 540 $a
CONTENTdm Data Type: Text
Dublin Core Definition: Information about rights held in and over the resource.  Typically, rights information includes a statement about various property rights associated with the resource, including intellectual property rights.
UA Definition: A rights management or usage statement or URL linking to one.  The statement may contain information concerning accessibility, reproduction of images, copyright holder, restrictions, securing permissions for use of text or images, etc.
Usage:

For all projects that digitize materials from Special Collections:

  • Consult the subject specialist and the finding aid (“Use Information”) for the collection being digitized to see if a customized rights statement is appropriate for the project or specific items in it.  For example:
    • Copyright restrictions apply: Publication and performance rights are retained by the Estate of William Grant Still and Verna Arvey. Permission to reproduce any materials and photographs in the collection must be obtained from the Estate of William Grant Still and Verna Arvey. All permissions must be in writing. The Estate can be contacted at: William Grant Still Music, 809 W. Riordan Road, Suite 100, Box 109, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-0810. Phone: (928) 526-9355. Fax: (928) 526-0321. Email: wgsmusic@bigplanet.com. No Interlibrary Loan. Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17).

  • If no customized rights statement is applicable, use the following general rights statement:
    • Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17). For additional information regarding publication of this item please contact the University of Arkansas Libraries Special Collections at 479-575-5577 or specoll@uark.edu.

For collections that consist of or include materials from another institution, consult the institution’s project liaison for the statement to be used.  For example:

  • Copyright © Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation, Scottsdale, AZ.  It is the responsibility of the user to determine the rights status and secure permissions for the use of this item.  For more information contact Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Archives (The Museum of Modern Art | Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University, New York) at wrightarchives-info@columbia.edu ; Avery Library, Columbia University, 1172 Amsterdam Avenue, MC0301, New York, NY 10027; phone 212-854-4110.

  • TarantinoSTUDIO ©2014.  It is the responsibility of the user to determine the rights status and secure permissions for the use of this item.  Please contact Tarantino Studio at info@tarantinostudio.com or call 908-359-2443 for more information.

If no copyright applies to the collection (or to specific objects), use the following statement:

Examples:

See above.

Revision Date: 12/5/19