StaffGuide: Electronic Serials

Electronic Serials

Resource Records

OVERVIEW

This box will provide information regarding the creation and maintenance of ERM resource records. 

CREATING RESOURCE RECORDS

Resource Record Template

  1. Create a Resource Record with the Basic Resource [basice] template. From the main menu of Sierra select FILE>NEW RECORD>RESOURCE RECORD. This will open the template (example above).
  2. Fill it out with as much information as known about the database. The Web Librarian will update the record later if needed, but for now, fill out as much as possible. Some important fields are the Rights Type, Payment Unit, Package Type, and Access Provider. These are all fixed fields, so the there will be a list of options to choose from.
  3. Next fill in the pResource ID. It is very important that this matches EXACTLY the name of the database in Sierra. Spaces or unusual characters could make the soft link not work. It is a good idea to copy directly from the Provider field in the coverage spreadsheet.
  4. The tResource Name matches the Resource ID in most cases. ; xAlternate name is commonly used titles or abbreviations.
  5. Fill in the remaining fields with as much information as known. A Google search for database information sometimes helps with the description and subjects. The Resource URL is taken from Serials Solutions. Make sure to add the proxy if appropriate.
  6. SAVE.
  7. The final step is to add a license record to the resource record. See below for procedure.

RESOURCE RECORD EXAMPLE

Resource Record Example

RESOURCE FIELDS REFERENCE

SEARCHING FOR RESOURCE RECORDS

Before a database can be catalog loaded it must have a Resource Record. Without the Resource ID and ERM Link (SLKe#) a soft link will not be created when ERMs are attached to bibs. A Resource Record contains information about the database, a license record, and (once loaded) all of the ERM checkin records attached to bibs using that ERM Link.

  • To find a Resource Record, search Sierra using (y) Database Name. If one is not found, then use the procedures to create a new Resource Record.

database search

License Records

OVERVIEW

This box will provide information regarding the creation and maintenance of ERM license records. 

CREATING LICENSE RECORDS

1. Every Resource Record needs to have a License Record attached. To create a License Record view the Summary tab of the Resource Record. Change the VIEW to License only. Then select "Attach New License".

Attach new license

2. There are two License Records templates: MULN Basic License [MULNBasicL] and MULN Open Access License [MULNOpenL]. Select the appropriate license for the database.

License Templates

3. In most cases, accept the information that is already provided. Search the internet to see if an Accessibility Statement is available for the database. If found, copy the appropriate URL into the Accessibility Field in the format shown. Note: For the License information to display in the OPAC, the status field must be set to -VALID. 

License tempalte

4. SAVE. The Web Librarian will insert a link to the scanned license at a later time.

EXAMPLE OF A LICENSE RECORD

Example of License Record

LICENSE RECORDS FIELD REFERENCE