GENERAL TITLE CHANGE INFORMATION

Title Changes

General Information:

When a title change occurs, it is necessary to complete title change paperwork, prepare the affected bibliographical records for the title change by inserting 9xx notes, resolve any issues related to online access for both the new and old titles, then send the title change paperwork to Serials Cataloging to bibliographically process the title change.  

Note: To completely process a title change, the 1st issue of the new title must be available.

Upon returning from Serials Cataloging, the title change titles will undergo a review from eSerials (and/or print serials) to make sure that the title change has been completed and all the maintenance needed for the change has been finished.

Additionally, the if the title change involves a title with an order record, the paperwork will be reviewed by the Serials Accountant to complete any order record maintenance which may include moving the order record to the newest title, archiving the order record, etc.

Finally, the completed title change paperwork, once signed off on by all parties, will be placed in the Ready to File basket.

Title Change Origins:

Title changes, along with accompanying paperwork, can originate from Print Serials and be passed on to eSerials for completion, or title changes may only involve changes to online only resources.

Title Changes for Print Ceasing: If the print version of a title ceases publishing, but we will continue receiving the electronic version of the title, then a title change (from print to electronic) must be completed.

Types of Title Changes:

Title changes can come in a variety of types--from absorption of old titles, splitting of titles, merging of titles, general title changes (from one title to another), print ceasing moving to online, etc. Forms for the various types of title changes can be found in the Helpful Title Change Resources Box below.

Location of Pending and Completed Title Change forms:

The location for Completed title change forms can be found at:

• Serials (Alexandria)>>FORMS>>Completed Title chg FORMS>>then FY of title change>>title change name (the old title).

The location for Pending title change forms in Alexandria is determined by the origin/status of the form. Once the title change is completed, the title change file will be moved to the Completed Title chg FORMS folder.

• All pending title change forms are located in Serials (Alexandria)>>FORMS>>__Title Chg form pending>>TITLE CHGS PENDING folder, then: 
  • Print to Print title changes are located in the Ashley's title chng folder
  • Internet only title changes are located in the INTER ONLY PENDING TITLE CHG folder
  • Title changes involving internet access but that have not yet been completed due to access unavailability are in the PENDING TITLE CHG FOLDER - AWAITING 1st Online Issue
  • Title changes in which we have been notified of the change, but the change has not yet taken place are located in the pending title chg sent to ESER

TITLE CHANGES GOING TO CAT

Title Changes

When a title change occurs, it is necessary to complete the title change paperwork, prepare the affected bibliographical records for the title change, and resolve any issues related to online access for both the new and old titles. Title changes can originate from Print Serials (example when a title ceases but we continue to carry the online version). Title change forms received from print serials may arrive in various stages of completion.

Below is the procedure for an online title to online title change, but the procedure is similar for many types of title changes.

Online title to online title change 

• Select the appropriate title change form. Usually the title change (general) form found below.
• Review OCLC for the new title. Export the appropriate online record in accordance with the bibliographic export procedure.
• Fill out the information requested on the form as thoroughly as possible. See the Title Change Form Example for a filled out form.
• Save the title change form in the appropriate folder on Alexandria.
  • Alexandria>>FORMS>>__Title chng forms pending>>TITLE CHNGS PENDING>>INTER ONLY PENDING TITLE CHNG
• Print the title change form (on salmon colored paper).
• In the old title bibliographic record, add the appropriate 9xx Title change note.
  • SER PROC Add New Paid title; Title Change (see paperwork) (D/I); Sent to (CAT or Initials)
  • SER PROC Add new unpaid title; Title Change (see paperwork) (D/I); Sent to (CAT or Initials)
• Print the bibliographic record for the old title.
• Print the OCLC record for the old title.
• Complete any electronic maintenance needed for the old title by reviewing Serials Solutions for appropriate profiling, coverage dates, any URLs in the bib, etc. If necessary, report any needed changes to Serials Solutions.
• In the new title bibliographic record, add the appropriate 9xx Title Change note. See note examples above.
• Print the bibliographic record for the new title.
• Print the OCLC record for the new title.
• Complete any electronic maintenance needed for the new title by reviewing Serials Solutions for appropriate profiling, coverage dates, any URLs in the bib, etc. If necessary, report any needed changes to Serials Solutions.
• Print any relevant webpage information or emails about the title change that may help serials cataloging process the title change. Often, this is in the form an email from the Serials Accountant or information listed on the publisher's web site.
• If, for some reason, print is affected due to the title change, send the paperwork to Print Serials for review. If print is not affected, mark through the Maintenance sign off/review line on the title change form.
• Staple the title change information together and place in the Serials Cataloging in basket.

TITLE CHANGES RETURNING FROM CAT

Title Changes Returning from Serials Cataloging

Once a title change returns from serials cataloging, it must be reviewed by all the affected parties and signed off on.

eSerials will: 

• Ensure that internet access is correctly applied to both titles 

          and

• Complete a back from Cataloging Review for both titles (paying particular attention to the new title)
  • Check for CAT Date
  • BIB Lvl =s Journal/Serial
  • Check for 222
  • Check for appropriate 655
  • If open access, add the dSubject 690 Open access note
  • For Newspapers ensure the dSubject 690 of decades covered is listed
  • Check the title change information (780s and 785s), making sure they link correctly
  • If series are present, review to verify the sSeries 830s match in the bibs and are included in the authority record
  • View public display to ensure that OPAC view is correct
  • Check Serials Solutions to make sure the titles are correctly profiled.
  • Check that the ERM or 856|u in the bib are correctly set up
  • Review 9xx note fields and add any that may be needed (e.g. vLocal Note 994 Serials Solutions where a new title is profiled)
  • Add vLocal Note 999 Review Done (D/I) if bibliographic record is correct.

          and 

• If the title change looks correct, then sign off on the eSerials line of the form with (D/I) and pass the form off to the next person on the list to review. If there is no one left to review, then place the form in the ready to file basket.

Questions about serials cataloging can be addressed to the Serials Catalogers via vLocal Note 999 QUESTION note.

TITLE CHANGE FORM EXAMPLES

Title Change going to Serials Cataloging: 

Completed Title Change Coming Back from Serials Cataloging:

CHOOSING PRINT VS. ONLINE BIBLIOGRAPHIC RECORD

Publication Format: Print vs. Online

Bibliographic format type to be determined by the primary access available to the public.

Use print bibliographic record; add URL when appropriate.

1. Publication is issued in print; index is only available online.
2. Publication is issued in print and online.
3. Publication is issued in print and online; some issues are available online only.
4. Publication is issued in print and online; print is only available upon request.
5. Publication is issued in print and online; print is not available except for limited distribution to …
   county extension offices, depository libraries, in-state addresses only, membership,
   shareholders, etc.
6. Print is not available except by electronic distribution … doc, pdf, xls, etc.; ELECTRONIC VERSION
   IS NOT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. Library supplies print copy to the public.
7. Print is not available except by electronic distribution … doc, pdf, xls, etc.; ELECTRONIC VERSION
   IS NOT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC, EXCEPT by subscription or request. Library supplies print
   copy to the public.

Use online/electronic bibliographic record

1. Print is not available except by electronic distribution … doc, pdf, xls, etc.; ELECTRONIC VERSION
   IS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
2. Print ceased; publication is now available online only.

Publication Format: Print vs. Online

1. Publication is issued in print; index is only available online.
   a. Canadian architect
2. Publication is issued in print and online.
3. Publication is issued in print and online; some issues are available online only.
   • Research series (Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station)
4. Publication is issued in print and online; print is only available upon request.
5. Publication is issued in print and online; print is not available except for limited distribution to …county extension offices, depository libraries, in-state addresses only, membership, shareholders, etc.
   • Arkansas education directory
6. Print is not available except by electronic distribution … doc, pdf, xls, etc.; ELECTRONIC VERSION IS NOT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. Library supplies print copy to the public.
   • Statement of gross tax collections (on fiscal year basis)
   • Inclusion Times
7. Print is not available except by electronic distribution … doc, pdf, xls, etc.; ELECTRONIC VERSION IS NOT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC, EXCEPT by subscription or request. Library supplies print copy to the public.
   • National faculty salary survey by discipline and rank in state colleges and universities
   • Pavela report

1. Print is not available except by electronic distribution … doc, pdf, xls, etc.; ELECTRONIC VERSION
   IS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
   • Population reports (Washington, D.C. : Online)
2. Print ceased; publication is now available online only.
   • Arkansas Genealogical Society e-zine [electronic resource]
   • Arkansas judicial directory [electronic resource]
   • Directory of Arkansas higher education personnel [electronic resource]
   • Nutrition news (Little Rock, Ark. : Online)

OCLC BIB EXPORT

Exporting  a Bib from OCLC

You have found a Bib Record in OCLC that you want to export to Sierra.

• In OCLC select the ActionExport button. This will export the record into Sierra.

• Once the Bib has been exported, run an OCLC number search in Sierra for the record you have just imported to verify that it has exported properly into Sierra.

Clean up the Bib record by doing the following:

•  Blank out the catalog date.
•  Change location to Inter (often it is good to save the record at this point and add the internet item record).

•  Add a local 947 note (v) that reads: BIB XPO (D/I)
• Add 222 for the 245 and 246 and 247 fields.
• Finally, return the local 947 BIB XPO note that you created. Update the note to include any changes that you have made to the Bib record. For example, if you deleted an 856 field or 082 field, indicate BIB XPO (D/I); 856 deleted, 082 deleted (D/I); or if you added a 222 indicate: BIB XPO (D/I) 222 added (D/I)

The Bib has now been exported and readied for the procedure.

Bib Export for OCLC Overlay:

Sometimes batches of brief bibs from vendors will be loaded into our catalog. When this occurs, it may be necessary to overlay more thorough OCLC records onto these brief bibs. This is so that we don't end up with two records for the same title (one brief bib and another, more thorough, OCLC record).If you believe that the overlay procedure needs to be done for a series, consult with eserials for discussion and instruction.

TITLE CHANGE FORMS