StaffGuide: Electronic Serials

Electronic Serials

ECAT Workflow

99x notes can be used to pass information throughout the eSerials workflow. 

Notes are designated as vLocal Notes in Sierra. Example: 

Local Notes

 

 

[ALL] 947 PERMANENTLY KEPT SERIALS RELATED INFORMATION

947  SERIALS Perpetual access for [use contract language, e.g. 2005-2014.] [provider, e.g. Wiley-Blackwell] per [source, e.g. contract, jc] (D/I)

[ALL] 990 QUESTION

Reserved for questions to the Serials Librarian. 

990  QUESTION Is there a better URL (D/I)>>Sent to Initials 
990  QUESTION Use this one instead: http://someurl.com (D/I)>>Sent to Inititals

[SER] 991 ORDER INFO

For storing information about the order process. Typical values might be:

991  ORDER INFO ACCESS AVAILABLE (D/I) >>Sent to Initials 
991  ORDER INFO Gift (D/I)
991  ORDER INFO Open Access (D/I)
991  ORDER INFO Paid (D/I)
991  ORDER INFO WAITING ON ACCESS (D/I)>>Sent to Initials

[SER] 992 INSTRUCTIONS

For telling those in the workflow what needs to be done. Typical values might be: 

992  INSTR 1992-  (D/I)
992  INSTR Notes Comes with Related title (D/I)
992  INSTR Password in order record (D/I)
992  INSTR Series [Series Name] (D/I)
992  INSTR URL http:somejournal.someplace.org (D/I)

[SER] 993 SERIALS PROCESSING

For storing information to assist cataloging and appropriate routing. It is important to use the notes as written to allow for searching and gathering records on the 993 field. 

 

   

993

SER PROC Add New paid title (D/I)>>Sent to initials

993  SER PROC TITLE CHANGE to [New title (bib#)]  (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993 SER PROC TITLE CHANGE From [Old title (bib#) (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993 SER PROC Add unpaid title (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993  SER PROC Add unpaid URL; needs internet cataloged (D/I)>>Sent to initials 
993   SER PROC Broken URL removed 85641[or 2]|uhttp://somejournal.org (D/I)
993  SER PROC Holdings changed (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993  SER PROC Internet access no longer available. Remove internet cataloging (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993  SER PROC Needs original cataloging (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993  SER PROC New paid database; needs cataloged (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993  SER PROC New unpaid database; needs cataloged (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993  SER PROC No Access, Delete (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993  SER PROC Password changed (D/I)>>Sent to initials
993  SER PROC Record suppressed; internet access no longer available, no other holdings (D/I)
993   SER PROC Removed URL 85640[or 1,2]|uhttp://somejournal.org (D/I)
993 SER PROC URL Changed (D/I)>>Sent to Initials
993   SEPROC URL fixed (D/I)
993   SER PROC URL removed (D/I) 
   

Note: A 993 SER PROC for Withdrawing can be used, but the withdraw must be completed with an official online drop form. 

[SER] 994 SERIALS SOLUTIONS

For information about profiling and collection in which profiled. Each database needs its own 994 note.

Typical values might be: 

994  SERIALS SOLUTIONS NEW DATABASE (D/I)>>Sent to initials
994  SERIALS SOLUTIONS PROBLEM TITLE* (D/I)
994  SERIALS SOLUTIONS Unable to profile** (D/I)

*Problem Title = designates titles that are available in Serials Solutions but have issues regarding appropriate profiling (e.g. only found in databases that we have not yet profiled, or occur in databases that we do not have profiled or have access to). 

**Unable to profile = A title, that after extensive searching, cannot be located in Serials Solutions. 

[WEB/SER] 995 SERIES/AUTHORITY

For information about new 830 series or changes to series. Typical values might be: 

995  SERIES/AUTH [Insert Series Name] (D/I)>>Sent to initials [returns to serials after authority work is complete]
995  SERIES/AUTH New Series needed (D/I)>>Sent to Serials Librarian

[WEB] 996 WEB

For information about journal linking, proxy issues, or URL issues. Typical values might be:

996  WEB COVERAGE LOAD (D/I)>>Sent to initials
996  WEB NEW URL http://somejournal.org (D/I)>>Sent to initials
996  WEB WEBBRIDGE (D/I)>>Sent to initials

[CAT] 997 CATALOGING

For information about cataloging work done. Typical values might include:

997  CATALOGING COMPLETE for new set ups (D/I)>>Sent to initials
997  CATALOGING CORRECTION MADE as requested (D/I)>>Sent to initials
997  CATALOGING RECORD REVISED (Date/Initials)>>Sent to initials

[TBA] 998

Left open for future needs. 

[SER] 999 REVIEW

Notes date of maintenance/final review. 

999  REVIEW DONE (D/I)

For detailed descriptions on sending work to cataloging and other departments see the Sending Items to Cataloging page