Basic Checklist for Checking In Analyzed Electronic Resources:
This provides an overview of checking in Analyzed Electronic Resources.
Search for and review the series authority record. (To search for authority records conduct a Title(t) search for the Series (830). The authority records will contain basic information regarding what to add in each exported bibliographic record so that it conforms to our library standards. Resources can belong to more than one Series, so it is necessary to review each Series authority record to find out what information must be added.
- Notice that in the 667 fields, information regarding what to add into each analyzed bib is listed: Create “inter” item record, base URL information, location, genre headings, etc.
Open the check in record for the resource you will be using and compare it to the authority the record—to investigate which Series 830s will be used.
It is often very helpful to open the bibliographic record of the last analyzed title that went through cataloging (found in the check in card). Since this record has been checked in and reviewed, it is good to use it as a template when checking in new titles.
Once you know which Series you are working with: review the check-in card for the next title. This often involves using Public Display to access the publisher’s website and seeing what new volumes have been published online.
If new materials (items that need to be checked-in) are online, click on the link to the resource to ensure that it is active. If active, then copy the publication title and paste it in the Public Note section of the correct check-in box of the check-in card.
Search Sierra for the monographic title. A monographic title should not be found. If a record is found for that title, STOP and consult with eserials Supervisor before proceeding.
- Search OCLC for monographic title and/or by series search with no.#
Identify the best OCLC record. **Remember you can only use online records for this procedure. To determine if an OCLC is for an electronic resource, examine the Form field, looking for o.
- Export OCLC Record.
- Re-search Sierra by OCLC number. With the record exported, you should find the monograph in Sierra.
- Blank the Cat date and add an internet item record. Now you will delete/modify/add fields to the newly imported bib record from OCLC. This is where you take the information provided in the authority record (the genre fields, URL, Series [830s], etc) and insert into the bibliographic record. Note: If the field already discussed exists in the imported OCLC record, you will need to delete the field and replace it with our field.
- Add v.947: Note the changes you’ve made to the record. Example: BIB XPO; 830, 856 added, inter 506, 655 (D/I)
- Add v.993: SER PROC ANALYZED TITLE (D/I)
- Add v.995: (SERIES/AUTH [insert Series identifier 830s] (D/I).
- Check Serials Solutions for monographic title.
- If it is found, the bib will have a 994 SERIALS SOLUTIONS note with the name of the database.
- Add v.994: SERIAL SOLUTIONS [insert name of database] (D/I)
- If it does not appear under the title of the monograph, search for the title of the serial. If found, the bib will have a 994 SERIALS SOLUTIONS note the name of the database that the serial is profiled in, and a note that reads "profiled as a journal only, not profiling as a book".
- Add v.994: SERIAL SOLUTIONS [insert name of database], profiled as a journal only, not profiling as a book (D/I)
- If neither the monographic or serial title can be found in Serials Solutions, the bib will have a 944 SERIALS SOLUTIONS unable to profile note.
- Add v.994 SERIALS SOLUTIONS unable to profile
Now, the record is readied to be sent to cataloging. If you are sending this directly to cataloging be sure to note that in the local note v995 by writing >> sent to RC (D/I).
- Check in title.
For more information and examples of analytics see the Serials Receiving & Processing StaffGuide.