This page contains information regarding routine database procedures.

Broken Dbs and Alerts 

In some cases, databases may become broken, inaccessible, or have other access problems. Alerts about access can be set up in Serials Solutions and Sierra.

Serials Solutions

In Serials Solutions visit the General section of the database that you wish to set an alert for. In the Public Database Note box, add the desired alert and make sure that Display is checked. It will take 24 hours for Serials Solutions to update the information in Summon/A-Z List.

In Sierra

If this happens and we expect access to be restored, we can add a (k) Alert to the resource record alerting patrons to the problem.

To set up an alert:

• Enter the resource record.
• Add a (k) Alert field.
  • Example: Selected ScienceDirect EPSCoR titles are not currently available. <br/>The publisher is working on the issue and hopes to have access restored soon.
• Once the problem is resolved, remove the Alert.

Public view: 

Database Deletion Clean Up in the Catalog and Serials Solutions

Who Does What?

When a resource (database) ceases or is dropped by the Libraries...

Electronic Serials will:

1. Remove holdings from the Coverage Database in Sierra..
2. In Serials Solutions, change the database to "Under Review. Then, uncheck 360 Core, 360 Link, 360 MARC Updates, and the Summon check boxes (if they are checked).  Finally, provide a note in the Public Database Note section (uncheck the display box) as to why the Database Status has been changed.(Note: Statistics are affected if all databases on a specific platform are marked unsubscribed in ExLibris/Serials Solutions.)
3. Delete empty checkins
4. Identify empty bibs and send for Bcode3 update to dDeleteCode
5. Identify any database bib records and send for withdrawal.
6. Suppress and make inactive the resource record and add a note about the drop and date.
7. Forward information about the drop to the Web Services Librarian.

The Web Services Librarian will:

1. Suppress any WebBridge resources related to the database.
2. Remove the database record from Research Guides A-Z list.
3. Search for any other links to the database in Research Guides and remove them.
4. Remove the database record from the website.
5. Search the website and LibAnswers for any additional references to the database and remove them.
6. Un-allocate publisher in OpenAthens, if this is the last resource with that domain.
7. Review the statistics collected for that resource and collect any final numbers.
8. Set a reminder for 6 months ahead to remove the resource from 360 COUNTER.

eSerials procedures step-by-step:

When a database is canceled (and is not being upgraded, i.e. ProQuest Research Library to ProQuest Central) take the following steps to remove it from the catalog and coverage:

1. Change the status of the database from Tracked to Under Review in serials solutions. (Note: Statistics are affected if all databases on a specific platform are marked unsubscribed in ExLibris/Serials Solutions.)
   • Uncheck the "Display In" Boxes: 360 Core, 360 Link, 360 MARC Updates, Summon. (Note: if this section is not completed the resource will continue to show up in Serials Solutions powered search results.)

       2. Gather all the ERM check-in records to delete:

• Store Record Type:Checkin[c]
• checkin[c]>resource id[p]>equal[=]>xxxx​
• Eserials supervisor will delete list of checkins.

     3. In the resource record:

• Change the resource record suppress value to n (do not displace OPAC)
• Change the resource status to inactive
• Add a note (n field) to the resource record explaining why it was suppressed (D/I)

     4. Gather all the empty bib records that need to be deleted. These are brief bibs that no longer have any erm check-in's attached. Send list to cataloging. Send for global update of Bcode3 to dDeleteCode

• bib[b]>bcode3[31]>equal[=]>erm[f]
• bib[b]>linked rec[^]>not exist to[n]>order[o]
• bib[b]>linked rec[^]>not exist to[n]>checkin[c]
• bib[b]>linked rec[^]>not exist to[n]>item[i]

    5. Look for bibs that no longer have any internet holdings and need their 655 removed. Send this list to cataloging. Using the review file in create list for the bibs in the resource being removed,​ Use the following criteria.

• {{{and checkin[c]>scode3[]>all fields do not have[a]>serials solutions[s]

• or bib[b]>linkrec[^]>not exist to[n]>checkin

• or bib[b]>Marc856[!]>all fields don't have[a]>|u}}}<- group together

    6. Delete resource from the coverage edit.

    7. Do authority record review. Is this authority going to continue to be used? Should it be deleted? If the authority record needs to be deleted, contact Deb to complete the deletion.

    8. Forward information regarding the drop to the Web Services Librarian.

Database Name Changes

Who Does What?

What eSerials does:

• Receive DB name change notification.
• Set up tickler to monitor for name change.
• Once the DB name changes, do resource record maintenance (delete tickler, change resource name and ID, add the old resource name as an alternate name in the resource record).
• Catalog Load, if necessary, the new resource (name changed resource) into the catalog and create holding records.
• Delete old resource name from coverage table
• Clean up old holding records
• Add work completed note to KB Notifications page in Serials Solutions
• Notify Web Services of name change 

What Web Services does:

• Change WebBridge resource name 
• Review to see if Research Guides A-Z List, database record on the website, or any other references to the database need to be changed.

eSerials Maintenance

Notification of Database Name Change

Notification for database name changes can come from a variety of sources: web services librarian, publisher emails, or most likely as knowledge base notifications in Serials Solutions.

If the database name change will be occurring at a later date, set a tickler in the resource record to review for the name change.

When a database changes names, it will usually change automatically in Serials Solutions and all of our profiling will be changed over as well.  If this doesn't happen, then contact LS1.

Example of DB Name Change tickler: 

Resource Record  Maintenance

In the resource record:

• change the Resource ID to match Serials Solutions
• change the Resource name to match the resource ID
• add the old Resource name as an alternate name 

Adding the new resource and cleaning up the old one

• Complete a catalog load of the new resource. (Note: If this is a 0 title database, this step can be skipped.)
  • You may need to download a new coverage report that contains the new resource name.
• Once the new resource is in the system, delete the old resource from the coverage table.
• Run a list to gather the empty check ins of the old resource 
  • Create list; store record as check in; checkin[c]>Resource ID[p]>has[h]>[Name of Old Resource]
  • Review the list. If correct, send list to LS1/Serials Librarian to globally delete the check ins.

Add work completed noted to KB notifications page in Serials Solutions.

Notify Web Services of database name change.

Processing New Databases/packages/resources

Serials Librarian/Accounting 

• After database is ordered, notify e-Serials of purchase via the LibAnswers form, which will generate a Trello card for the resource.

• Check if bibliographic record is in the system. Edit existing bib or overlay on brief bib, or export new record as appropriate. If record is exported for a paid resource, notify Accounting of new record so an order can be attached. (Do a quick search to see if accounting has created a brief bib and attached an order record). Create an awaiting access temporary check-in record with tickler and set-up card with expected date to ensure follow-up occurs; make notes of information that may be helpful when profiling later.
  • NOTE: If there is a print component for the subscription, ensure the Continuations Specialist is also notified.
• Determine if the bib record should display to the public and the expected URL for the bib using information from Accountant, order record and in conjunction with any Authority records. The URL should be proxied and link directly to the resource. If unsure, consult with Accountant or Serials Supervisor.   
• Set up/verify Open Athens settings. If new domain, may involve creating a ticket through EBSCO Connect to have set up.
• If access is not available, set up awaiting access check-in record and tickler to check for access after a week. If access is still unavailable then contact the Accountant/Serials Librarian and find out when to follow-up again and reset check-in box and tickler. Review to determine which database should be profiled based on package purchase information. If unsure, consult with accountant for assistance and make appropriate notes in the temporary check-in record.
• Once access is available, profile the correct database in Serials Solutions. Verify that no custom URL needs to be added for proxy and/or other issues. Delete temporary check-in record.
• Create the license record and resource record in Sierra.
  • Using the information from the LibAnswers form or Trello complete the resource record and license record with as much information as possible.
    • Rights Type, 
    • Access provider
    • Payment Unit
    • Load Type
    • ILL Terms
• Inform Web Services of a new resource, database, or package.
• If this is a database of individual titles, do follow-up for getting records into Sierra and Summon.
• Send bib information to Serials Cataloging.
• Reviewing cataloging of resource once it returns from Serials Cataloging.

Web Services

• Complete any Webbridge related maintenance for the resource.
• Set up statistics portion of the resource.
• Verify proxy domain(s).
• Record the resource in the various sections of the library web space where necessary (Research Guides A-Z List, library web site, LibAnswers, etc).

Upgraded Packages 

For upgraded packages, complete the new databases, packages, and resources procedure, then once the new resource is in place, initiate the removal of the old resource.

Db Upgrades, Publisher Changes, and Platform Changes

For Db Upgrades and Publisher changes

Maintenance may vary, but usually you will be required to complete the set up of the new resource. Once the set up is completed, initiate the Db Deletion procedure. If you have questions, consult any documentation issued by Serials Solutions, the publisher, or the subscription agent about the change. If questions still persist, consult with the Serials Accountant/Serials Librarian.

Examples of Db upgrades:

BioOne.1 changing to BioOne Complete in 2017.

Example of Db publisher changes:

JSTOR moving to the University of Chicago Press in 2015.

For Db platform changes 

We are usually notified of db platform changes via the subscription agent, the publisher, or the Serials Solutions KB changes page.

Platform changes can require a variety of maintenance procedures from initiating a db name change, to setting up a new db, to needing to run a catalog/coverage load to update database holdings.

Review any change documentation issued by the subscription agent, publisher, or Serials Solutions to determine the best course of action.

Evaluate whether any headings needed. If a keyword search still gets users to the new content then no extra headings are needed. If a keyword search does not yield the new content add a 500 note with the name of the previous database to help users find the content. When in doubt, review with the Library Supervisor.