Research Guides: StaffGuide: Electronic Serials: Monthly quality control search strategies for create list

Search Strategies for Create Lists

MONTHLY QUALITY CONTROL

RUN ALL LISTS AGAINST ALL GOOD BIBS (unless stated otherwise)

Empty Check-Ins (Must ask Sierra to run the coverage database utility first):

Store Record Type:Checkin[c]
checkin[c]>scode3[118]>equal[=]>serials solutions[s]
and checkin[c]>int. note[z]>has[h]>holdings from erm coverage load
and checkin[c]>MARC856[!]>equal[=]>blank

Note: You must have "Include coverage database information" checked in Sierra to get accurate results. Sierra>>Admin>>Settings>>Create List>>Include database information box (checked).

Bibs that need to be reviewed for deletion:

Brief bibs (ERM holdings)

bib[b]>bcode3[31]>equal[=]>f
and bib[b]>linkrec[^]>not exist to[n]>order[o]
and bib[b]>linkrec[^]>not exist to[n]>item[i]
and bib[b]>linkrec[^]>not exist to[n]>checkin[c]

Others: (Note: while many law school records have been eliminated, double check to make sure the record is not law before beginning maintenance).

bib[b]>bcode3[31]>does not equal [!=]>delete [d]
and bib[b]>Bib LVL[b002]>equal to[=]>Journal/Serial[s]
and bib[b]>bcode31>does not equal[!=]>Law Converted [L]
and bib[b]>bcode31>does not equal[!=]>Law-Brief Bib[u]
and bib[b]>linkrec[^]not exist to [n]>order[o]
and bib[b]>linkrec[^]>not exist to[n]>item[i]
and bib[b]>linkrec[^]>not exist to[n]>checkin[c]
and bib[b]>MARC856[!]>equal to[=]>blank
and bib[b]>MARC860[!]>equal to[=]>blank
and bib[b]>MARC655[!]>has[h]>electronic

Needs 655:

checkin[c]>int. note[z]>has[h]>Holdings from ERM Coverage Load
and bib[b]>MARC655[!]>all fields do not have[a]>Electronic

Needs 655 removed:

bib[b]>MARC655[!]>has[h]>electronic journals
bib[b]>MARC856|u[!]>equal to[=]>blank
{{{and bib[b]>linked rec[^]>not exist to[n]>checkin[c]
or checkin[c]>int note[z]>all fields don't have[a]>Holdings from erm}}}<- group together

Until the broken URL project is completed, it may be beneficial to add a line bib[b]>Local Note[v]>all fields don't have[a]>ser proc broken

Also run:

bib[b]>MARC655[!]>has[h]>electronic newspapers
bib[b]>MARC856|u[!]>equal to[=]>blank
{{{and bib[b]>linked rec[^]>not exist to[n]>checkin[c]
or checkin[c]>int note[z]>all fields don't have[a]>Holdings from erm}}}<- group together

Placeholder checkins need deleted:

checkin[c]>int. note[z]>has[h]>Holdings from ERM Coverage Load
and checkin[c]>int. note[z]>has[h]>Placeholder for ERM coverage and internet location
Use this list as a review list to run 'Store Record Type:Item' list for only checkins with Placeholder int. note.

Internet item records need deleted:

checkin[c]>scode3[118]>equal to[=]>serial solution[s]
{{{and item[i]>location[79]>equal to[=]>internet resource[inter]
and item[i]>itype[61]>equal to[=]>internet resource[43]
and item[i]>status[88]>equal to[=]>on internet[j]}}}<- group together
Use this list as a review list to run 'Store Record Type:Item' list for deletion.

Tickler Review

Review ticklers in check in records:

Store record type: checkin C

checkin[c]>location[40]>equal[=]>internet resource[inter]
and checkin[c]>Ticklerlog[u]>not equal top[!=]>blank
After creating list, if necessary export the list into an excel to review for correctly entered tickler information, paying particular attention to date entry. For information on how to export the ticklers into an excel file see the tickler Research Guide page.

and then review ticklers in resource records:

Store record type: Resource e

Resource[e]>Tickler log[c]>not equal to[!=]>blank
and Resource[e]>Rights Type[172]>not equal to[!=]>Licensed Law[L]

NEVER BEEN LOADED

List should be run with the following search strategies:

Bibs that need 655:

checkin[c]>resource id[p]>has[h]>xxxx
and bib[b]>MARC655[!]>all fields do not equal[a]>Electronic journals.

Brief bibs that need 222:

checkin[c]>resource id[p]>has[h]>xxxx [resource id]
and bib[b]>bcode3[31]>equals[=]>ERM[f]
and bib[b]>MARC222[!]>equals[=]>[leave blank]

Bib needs appropriate 856 removed:

Use review list from Load 1.

Bibs that need 690 (For Open Access Packages Only):

checkin[c]>resource id[p]>has[h]>xxxx
and bib[b]>MARC690[!]>all fields do not equal[a]>Open Access journal

RELOADS (MAINTENANCE)

List should be run with the following search strategies:

Delete Candidate List:

Select empty list and select copy
Choose Delete Candidate list

Empty Checkins:

Checkin list
Review against "Delete Candidates"
checkin[c]>resourceid[p]>has[h]>xxxx

Bibs to Delete:

Review against "Original 830 List"
bib[b]>bcode3[31]>equal[=]>f
and bib[b]>linkrec[^]>not exist to[n]>order[o]
and bib[b]>linkrec[^]>not exist to[n]>item[i]
and bib[b]>linkrec[^]>not exist to[n]>checkin[c]

Bibs that need 655:

checkin[c]>resource id[p]>has[h]>xxxx
and bib[b]>MARC655[!]>all fields do not equal[a]>Electronic journals.

Brief bibs that need 222:

checkin[c]>resource id[p]>has[h]>xxxx [resource id]
and bib[b]>bcode3[31]>equals[=]>ERM[f]
and bib[b]>MARC222[!]>equals[=]>[leave blank]

Bibs that need 690 (For Open Access Packages Only):

checkin[c]>resource id[p]>has[h]>xxxx
and bib[b]>MARC690[!]>all fields do not equal[a]>Open Access

Choosing which databases to reload: These searches have been superseded by the new frequency schedule which can be found on the next tab.

Brief Bibs Cat Loads:

Store record type: Resource [e]
Resource[e]>Load Type[177]>equal to[=]>Brief Cat Load[b]
and Resource[e]>Resource Status[178]>equal to[=]>Active[-]
and Resource[e]>Load Date[195]>less than or equal to[<=]>Choose a date
and Resource[e]>Rights Type[172]>not equal to[!=]>open access [o]

Full Bibs Cat Loads:

Store record type: Resource [e]
Resource[e]>Load Type[177]>equal to[=]>Full Cat loads[f]
and Resource[e]>Resource Status[178]>not equal to[!=]>Inactive[i]
and Resource[e]>Load Date[195]>less than or equal to[<=]>Choose a date
and Resource[e]>Rights Type[172]>not equal to[!=]>open access [o]

Open Access Databases with Brief Bibs:

Store record type: Resource [e]
Resource[e]>Rights Type[172]>equal to[=]>Open access[o]
and Resource[e]>Resource Status[178]>not equal to[!=]>Inactive[i]
and Resource[e]>Load Type[177]>equal to[=]>Brief Cat Load[b]
and Resource[e]>Load Date[195]>less than or equal to[<=]>Choose a date

Open Access Databases with Fully Cataloged Bibs:

Store record type: Resource [e]
Resource[e]>Rights Type[172]>equal to[=]>Open access[o]
and Resource[e]>Resource Status[178]>not equal to[!=]>Inactive[i]
andResource[e]>Load Type[177]>equal to[=]>Full cat load[f]
and Resource[e]>Load Date[195]>less than or equal to[<=]>Choose a date

Note: Open access databases need the 690 Open access added or removed depending on the situation.

RELOAD (WHAT TO RELOAD)

A reload frequency note has been added to Resource records to denote when a group of resources should be reloaded.

The list contains the following reload schedules:

Reload Frequency: Monthly
Reload Frequency: Every six months
Reload Frequency: Yearly
Reload Frequency: Every three months

Ticklers have been set up in selected resources to send an email to the eSerials box to remind the eSerials staff to run one of the lists below and reload the selected resources.

CreateList Search Strategies

For monthly:

Store record type Resource e
Resource [e]>>Resource Status[178]>>=>>-
and Resource [e]>>Staff Note[n]>>has>>Reload Frequency: Monthly

For every six months

Store record type Resource e
Resource [e]>>Resource Status[178]>>=>>-
and Resource [e]>>Staff Note[n]>>has>>eload Frequency: Every six months

For every three months

Store record type Resource e
Resource [e]>>Resource Status[178]>>=>>-
and Resource [e]>>Staff Note[n]>>has>>Reload Frequency: Every three months

For yearly

Store record type Resource e
Resource [e]>>Resource Status[178]>>=>>-
and Resource [e]>>Staff Note[n]>>has>>Reload Frequency: Yearly

USING CREATELIST

For information regarding how to use the createlist module see:

Sierra Create Lists

University Libraries

Staff Guides

StaffGuide: Electronic Serials

Search Strategies for Create Lists