StaffGuide: Serials Receiving & Processing

Serials Receiving & Processing StaffGuide Home Page

No Record

NO RECORD

Occasionally, a publication yields minimal search results and becomes difficult to find after using a few search methods. When this occurs, you will need to follow the no record procedures listed below.

  1. A comprehensive search must be conducted if basic search methods do not bring up results for the publication in hand.
    1. Comprehensive search includes:
      1. Searching Sierra:
        1. (s) - Journal Title
        2. (t) - Title
        3. (i) - ISSN/ISBN
        4. (a) - Author
        5. (W) - Keyword (Staff)
      2. If searching in Sierra yielded no search results, search in the Serials HSD workbook spreadsheet.
        1. The HSD folder is located in the local Serials Drive.
        2. The workbook spreadsheet file is called “HSD”.
        3. The workbook is composed of 2 sheets called “ARK” and “A-Z”.
          1. “ARK” sheet is where all the Arkansas titles are listed.
          2. “A-Z” sheet is where all the non-Arkansas titles are listed.
          3. If the publication is found in either sheet, proceed to add an entry for that title in the “DATE RECD (mth/yr)” column.
          4. The columns before the “DATE RECD (mth/yr)” column are password-protected. If edits need to be made in any of these columns, find the password in the upper-left corner of the A-Z sheet.
  2. If a comprehensive search and an HSD search did not yield results:
    1. Write “No record (d/i)" on a white flag (or sticky note) and place the flag in the publication.
    2.  Pass the publication to the Serials Processing Specialist for review.
      1. If the position who is responsible for reviewing no record titles becomes vacant, place the item on the No Record Shelf in Serials. If you notice that the shelf contains several issues of a publication (usually 3 or more), alert your supervisor that the title needs to be reviewed. 

Internet Only Titles

INTERNET ONLY SHELF

Occasionally, we will receive a print issue for a title for which we only subscribe to the online (internet only) version.

Searching for an internet only title:

  1. Conduct a comprehensive search in Sierra.
    1. Comprehensive search includes:
      1. (s) - Journal Title
      2. (t) – Title
      3. (i) - ISSN/ISBN
      4. (a) – Author
      5. (W) - Keyword (Staff)
  2. Just in case, check the HSD for the title and title instructions.

Determining an internet only title by examining the record summary:

     Determining internet only titles can be tricky, if you don’t know what to look for.

            What to look for in the record summary:

  1. INTER only records have INTER check in records.
  2. INTER only records do not have other check in records attached.
  3. Internet only check in records will have no check in card. The check in record will contain inter as the LOCATION field, and NO CARD as the STATUS. See image below.

Internet only records

  1. Proceed to look for order records and item records attached to the record.
  2. Item records: INTER only records do not have item records attached unless it is an INTER item record. Serials no longer uses INTER item records but some records might still have them. Do not delete these INTER item records. Leave them be. These INTER item records were used before we switched over to INTER check in records.

Determining an internet only title by examining the bibliographic record:

  1. Make sure the location in the bibliographic record only says “inter INTERNET RESOURCE”.
  2. Review the BCODE3. If it says “f ERM record”, then it is truly an INTER only Record.
  3. Make sure that an 860 for print holdings is not in the record.
  4. Review 947 local notes, especially 947 local notes about dropped titles and cancelations.
  5. If you see any DROPPED notes, the title is not an internet only title, but instead a dropped or canceled title.

*****NOTE: IF A TITLE HAS BEEN DROPPED OR CANCELED FOR ANY REASON, IT IS NOT AN INTERNET ONLY TITLE, BUT A DROPPED OR CANCELED TITLE AND MUST FOLLOW THE DROPPED/CANCELED TITLE PROCEDURE*****

If there are no drop local notes, and the record exhibits characteristics of an INTER only title then the title is an internet only title.

You can then complete the internet only procedure by:

  1. Write “INTER only (d/i)" on a white flag (or sticky note) and place the flag in the publication.
  2. Pass the publication to the Serials Processing Specialist for review.
    1. If the position who is responsible for reviewing INTER only titles becomes vacant, place the item on the INTER only Shelf in Serials. If you notice that the shelf contains several issues of a publication (usually 3 or more), alert your supervisor that the title needs to be reviewed.

Canceled/Dropped Titles

GENERAL DROPPED/CANCELED TITLE PROCEDURES (also known as "Subscription Overlap"):

As you find the record, if you find that a title has been dropped/canceled for any reason (this could be listed in the check-in record if one still exists, or the bibliographic record as a 947 local note) use the following procedure:

Determining a Dropped/Canceled title:

Dropped/Canceled titles should contain a Local 947 note in the bib record detailing the drop:

LOCAL NOTE    947              DROPPED: Cancel print w/ v.105 (2016). (11/29/16 jdr)

However, in some cases, you will receive a title in which the drop has occurred, but the title hasn't made it through cataloging; therefore no Local Note 947 will be available. In these instances, you must use the Check-in record notes to recognize the dropped/canceled title: 

Note    DROP SENT TO CAT (02/20/17 anm)
Note    DROP: Cancel subscription w/ v.31 no.1 (Fall 2016) ; COUNTED as 1 cancel PERIODICAL print paid primary  (09/08/16 anm)

Once you've determined that a title has been dropped/canceled proceed to the following procedure:

  1. Write “Dropped title (d/i)” on a white flag (or sticky note) and place the flag in the publication.
  2. Pass the publication to the Serials Processing Specialist for review.
    1. If the position who is responsible for reviewing Dropped/Canceled titles becomes vacant, place the item on the Dropped/Canceled titles Shelf in Serials. If you notice that the shelf contains several issues of a publication (usually 3 or more), alert your supervisor that the title needs to be reviewed.

For more info on how to process issues of Dropped Titles/Subscription Overlaps, check out the Subscription Overlap page in the Serials Processing section.