TITLES GOING TO ARKCO/SPCO (ARKANSAS COLLECTION/SPECIAL COLLECTIONS)
Do not stamp or strip. Aside from trimming off tape/adhesives protruding from the piece to eliminate sticky substance, and applying archival tape to minor tears, do not do anything that alters the piece in its original form.
Processing procedures for serials sent to Special Collections:
ARKCO and everything except for ARKFL:
Call number label goes on back cover / right bottom side.
No receipt label. Only use the call number label.
Do not cover images and article titles. Okay to cover ads and journal titles.
No security strips.
If applicable, okay to place barcode on the back cover, upper right side.
ARKFL:
Call number label goes on front cover / left upper side.
No receipt label. Only use the call number label.
Do not cover images and article titles. Okay to cover ads and journal titles.
No security strips.
Arkansas traveler: The copy that will be digitally scanned, please do not label it. Send copy to Special Collections as is.
Loose-leaf= Do not hole-punch or staple item.
Archival Envelope and boxes= If the item has instructions for Serials staff to place it in an archival envelope/box, barcodes and labels can be placed on the envelope or box.
Materials going to the vertical file= SPCO UNCLASSED VERTICAL FILE: regular envelope used only for transporting items and keeping them together until it reaches Special Collections.
Unclassed materials= SPCO UNCLASSED: regular envelope used only for transporting items and keeping them together until it reaches Special Collections.
Any serials being processed for a particular collection or Special Collections Rare Books Collection will have to follow the labeling procedures for those collections. Most likely will have to place labels and barcodes on archival flags.
Additional procedures:
Call number labels can be written on with pencil (make sure the pencil lead does not smear) if needed, to complete the call number.
Be extra careful when checking for damage. Remember these copies are meant for preservation. If you have any questions about damage, consult with Preservation for a claiming decision. When sending an issue to Preservation for consultation/review, try not to use post-it notes. Slips of paper should be used for notes, to indicate where the damage is and what needs to be done.
Titles that first go to PER, then get transferred to ARKCO OR ARKFL
We have 3 serial titles that, when first checked in, go to the PER shelves, but are then transferred to ARKCO OR ARKFL after a specified time:
These titles have been approved to follow the normal PER processing procedures, so in their cases you would apply labels and a security strip to the piece. However, these being Arkansas titles of historical value, please try not to cover any words or pictures, especially people. (Note: The smaller call number label should still be applied to the front, as much in the upper left corner as possible, and blank areas can be trimmed if needed).
ARKCO/SPCO (ARKANSAS COLLECTION/SPECIAL COLLECTIONS) Pickup Shelf
Since ARKCO/SPCO materials do not receive security strips or stamps, they can go directly from the Receiving Specialist's workstation to the ARKCO/SPCO pickup shelf after the materials have been checked in. Please be mindful of preservation when placing materials on this shelf. The shelf can fill up depending on workloads. ARKCO/SPCO materials come in many different formats and sizes, ranging from CDs, magazines, and newspapers, to fragile loose-leaf items. Please place materials in such a way that they will not get bent, torn, crinkled, or toppled over.
NEWSPAPER-LIKE SERIALS: If the item is a full-sized newspaper, such as the Washington County Enterprise-Leader, it can be placed on the shelf folded as it normally comes. If it is a smaller newspaper, like the Baptist Trumpet or Arkansas Catholic, please place it on the shelf unfolded.
