StaffGuide: Serials Receiving & Processing

Serials Receiving & Processing StaffGuide Home Page

Processing--New Gift Setups

New Gift Set Up:

Definition:

Gift Set Up: The University Libraries may decide to seek an ongoing gift subscription or sign up for a gift subscription to a serial title if it is available through the publisher. The new gift set up request will be sent to the Serials Processing Specialist for initial processing that involves establishing the gift subscription, exporting an OCLC record or creating a brief bibliographic record, and creating the new check in record and gift order record. Next, the paperwork and issue(s) will be sent to the Serials Cataloging Supervisor to catalog. After it is cataloged, the Serials Cataloging Supervisor will return the paperwork and issue(s) back to the Serials Processing Specialist to finish up the processing of the new gift title. 


Serials Processing Specialist to-do list for the new gift set up:

  1. Contact the publisher and establish the gift subscription. This may involve calling, emailing, and/or writing a letter to ask the publisher for a gift subscription.
  2. After the publisher agrees to send us the serial title as a gift:
    1. Export the OCLC record of the serial title or create a brief bibliographic record if the title needs original cataloging. 
    2. Create a check in record. 
    3. Create a gift order record. 
    4. Send the paperwork and issue(s) to the Serials Cataloging Supervisor.
    5. After the title is cataloged, everything will be returned to the Serials Processing Specialist
    6. The Serials Processing Specialist will finish up processing the new gift title and place it on the appropriate pick up shelf in Technical Services. 
Check the following tabs for each step in the new gift set up process. 

Processing--New Gift Set Up--Add New Bibliographic Record to Sierra

Add New Bibliographic Record to Sierra:

You will either export the OCLC record of the serial title or create a brief bibliographic record in Sierra if original cataloging is needed.


Exporting a record from OCLC Connexion Client:

  • After finding a record in OCLC, always do a search in Sierra to see if we already have the OCLC record before exporting the record. If you cannot find the OCLC record in Sierra, proceed to export the record. 
  • You will click on the "ActionExport" icon located in the tool bar up at the top. Be careful. This export icon is next to the printer icon. Image of where to find the export icon in OCLC Connexion Client desktop version.
  • A pop up window will show up after exporting the record. Please read the pop up window before closing the window. It will tell you if it overlaid a record or not. Also it will tell you the bibliographic record number. You can copy/paste this number into Sierra and do a .# search to find the new record.

Adding local notes in the bibliographic record in Sierra:

  • Update the location appropriately.
  • Add 222 (Alternate title) 1st indicator is blank and 2nd indicator 0 as needed.
  • Add 947 (local note): "BIB XPO (date and initials)". 
  • If it is a bound title, you will add a 947 (local note) "BOUND TITLE".

Creating a brief bibliographic record in Sierra: 

  1. Only create a brief bibliographic record in Sierra if you are unable to find an OCLC record. The title might need original cataloging.
  2. Make sure you are using the serial Mullins brief bib records preferred template. If this is your first time, follow the instruction below to set up your preferred template for serial brief records. 
    1. In Sierra, go to Admin-->Settings-->Record Templates-->Record Type: Bibliographic-->Find serial Mullins brief bib records template and make sure to move it over to the Preferred Templates side by clicking the arrow pointing to the Preferred Templates side.
    2. Image of how to find the serial Mullins brief bib records template in Sierra.
  3. Now, go to the search interface of Sierra and click on “New” icon located at the top right of the window. This is how a new brief bib is created.
  4. Enter 245 (Title)222 (Alternate title) 1st indicator is blank and 2nd indicator 0, and 947 (local note) [ add (date and initials) to the 947 after the phrase "BRIEF BIB KEYED IN; needs original.". Also, if it is a bound title, you will add a 947 (local note) "BOUND TITLE".
    1. All the MARC fields that you do not enter data into will disappear after you click "Save".
    2. The MARC 85641 field can be deleted if you do not intend to add a URL. 
    3. Change the location in the bibliographic to the appropriate location. 
    4. Keep in mind that a brief bib record doesn't need a lot of information because the cataloger will catalog the record completely. 

Processing--New Gift Set Up--Add New Check In Record

You can follow the instructions on how to create a check in record here. Below you will find what the fixed field codes and the variable field codes should be for gift titles. 


New check in record fixed field codes:

LABEL TYPE: n (NO LABEL)  [Once the title is cataloged, then you can choose the appropriate label type.]

SCODE1: -  ---

SCODE2: g (GIFT)

COPIES: [Usually 1 copy but add the appropriate number of copies you will be checking in on the check in record]

LOCATION: Choose the appropriate location designated by the subject selector.

RLOC: s (SER MULN)

VENDOR: none

SCODE3: Choose the appropriate code. For example, if it is a continuation, then “3” (R3 CONTINUATIONS). If it is not a continuation or newspaper then “r” (R1-R2 CONT). If it is a newspaper then “n” (NEWSPAPERS).

SCODE4: ---


New check in record variable field codes:

CALL #: OnOrder

NOTE: PENDING NEW GIFT SET UP (date and initials)

NOTE(S): You might need to add instruction notes here.

NOTE: Contact information. "CONTACT:  "

NOTE: Copy/paste URL in a note field. If you can’t find a useful URL, then do not add a URL note.

NOTE: ~~PARAMETERS: (frequency) / (days before claim) (date and initials)

VEN. ADDR. (q) : Add the vendor address to the check-in record.  The vendor address area on the claim slips has a MAXIMUM of five lines allowed.  Each line has a MAXIMUM of twenty-eight character spaces allowed.  Omit punctuation and abbreviate whenever possible. Use all caps. To add an additional line to the vendor address field,click [shift] + [$]. 

BIND NOTE: Only add a bind note if the title is going to be bound. The note will say “BOUND TITLE".

MESSAGE: Only add a message field if you believe you will receive more issues while the title is waiting to be cataloged. You message can say "Give all issues to the Serials Processing Specialist (date and initials)".

 

 

Processing--New Gift Set Up--Add New Order Record

Adding a new gift order record: 

  • In the record, change your summary view to o Order
  • Select Attach New Order button in the Summary screen of the record.

Select Attach New Order button in the Summary screen of the record

  • After clicking the button you will go through a series of prompt windows. Below you will find instructions about them.

New gift order record fixed field codes:

ACQ TYPE: 0 (NO CHARGE)

Image of ACQ TYPE: 0 (NO CHARGE)

LOCATION: Choose the appropriate location designated by the subject selector.

location box

COPIES: Usually 1 copy but if multiple copies, please indicate that.

Number of copies box

CODE3: Only change this to “3” (R3) if the serial is a continuation. If it is not a continuation the the code is “-“ (---).

CODE3: Only change this to “3” (R3) if the serial is a continuation. If it is not a continuation the the code is “-“ (---).

E PRICE: $0.00

E PRICE: $0.00

FORM: Usually p (PERIODICAL) but if it isn't then choose the appropriate format type. 

FORM: Usually p (PERIODICAL) but if it isn't then choose the appropriate format type.

FUND: none

ODATE: Is the date you created the order record. 

ODATE: Is the date you created the order record.

ORD TYPE: g (GIFT)

ORD TYPE: g (GIFT)

RLOC: s (SER MULN)

BLOC: s (SER MULN)

STATUS: f (SERIAL NO ENC)

STATUS: f (SERIAL NO ENC)

VENDOR: none

VENDOR: none


New gift order record variable field codes:

IDENTITY: Only add this field if you have a paid copy and a gift copy. You will add "GIFT COPY" to the identity field. If this field is not needed, then do not add it. 

VEN. ADDR. (q) : Add the vendor address to the check-in record.  The vendor address area on the claim slips has a MAXIMUM of five lines allowed.  Each line has a MAXIMUM of twenty-eight character spaces allowed.  Omit punctuation and abbreviate whenever possible. Use all caps. To add an additional line to the vendor address field,click [shift] + [$]. 

Processing--New Gift Set Up--Send Gift Set Up to Serials Cataloging

Sending Gift Set Up to Serials Cataloging: 

  • Add top note to check in record "SENT TO CAT (date and initials)".
  • Fill out and print out form on the appropriate colored paper. Below you can find the forms.
    • Periodical = yellow form
    • Continuation = blue form
    • Arkansas periodical = pink form
    • Arkansas continuation = green form
  • In the top left corner of the form write "GIFT SET UP".
  • It is important to sign off on the "OCLC REVIEW" line and "MAINTENANCE" line with your date and initials.
  • Place paperwork and issue(s) in the Serials Cataloging Supervisor's basket called "IN: WORK FROM SERIALS".
    • Place paperwork and issue(s) in the Serials Cataloging Supervisor's basket called "IN: WORK FROM SERIALS".

 

Processing--New Gift Set Up--When Gift Set Up Returns from Serials Cataloging

When the Gift Set Up Returns from Cataloging:

  • Check bibliographic record:
    • Make sure 860 is correct.
    • Make sure the 945 with cataloger's initials is added.
    • If you find something that is incorrect or missing, send the paperwork back to the Serials Cataloging Supervisor explaining what is incorrect or missing. They will send the paperwork back once the record is corrected. 
  • Check in record: Delete all pending notes and message fields no longer needed. 
  • Check in record: Make sure all the fields and notes in the check in record are up to date and make sense. 
  • Check in record: Update the label type field to the appropriate label type.
    • A label: Is perfect for serial titles that have a consistent enumeration and the cover date is not as prominent or is not on the piece. 
    • B label: Is perfect for serial titles that are continuations or it has a consistent cover date and the enumeration is not as prominent or is not on the piece. 
  • Check in record: Proceed to check in the item(s), label appropriately, count statistics, and add security strip and property stamp if needed. 
  • Statistics: On the DROP ADD CANCEL WORKSHEET (See Ser stats Excel sheet below, DropAddCancel rev tab), add the appropriate tally to the add section of the worksheet. It is a gift and you need to figure out what type of serial it is. For example: It is a continuation gift. It is a periodical gift. It is a CD-ROM gift. 
  • Paperwork: Sign off on the paperwork with today's date on the MAINTENANCE line at the bottom of the paperwork. 
  • Paperwork:  At the top left corner write the fiscal year (YY/YY) and a star. The star means you counted the added gift title. 
    • For example: 19/20
  • Paperwork: If it is a bound title, make a photocopy of the top sheet of the paperwork. Write "BIND" in red felt pen at the top of the photocopy and place the photocopy in the Binding basket
  • Paperwork: If it is a title going to PER, PERS, FALPE, CHEMP, or PHYSP: make a photocopy of the top sheet of the paperwork. Write the location code in red felt pen at the top of the photocopy. Fold the photocopy and place it in the issue. Also, take a "NEW TITLE" flag and place it in the issue. Make sure these pieces of paper are hanging out of the piece like a flag so library staff will notice them. 
  • Paperwork: File paperwork in the appropriate fiscal year within the Search Records cabinet or if it is an older fiscal year, its search records box. If we do not have a cabinet or box for the older fiscal year then throw away the paperwork. 
  • Item: Place on the appropriate pick up shelf. 
  • The process is complete now!