StaffGuide: Serials Receiving & Processing

Serials Receiving & Processing StaffGuide Home Page

Processing--Serials Donations & 1x Additions Overview

This page has procedures and guidelines for processing serials donations & 1x additions.

1x Additions

Issues received in Serials that are incomplete volumes may be held on the SERIALS 1X ADD SHELF.

Create an item record for each incomplete volume using the Item Record Template:   

The I-Type will be the type of periodical. Location should be ser SERIALS. Status a AT SERIALS, ICODE2 n SUPPRESS. Be sure to move the newly created item record to the correct placement in the item list. 

Item Record Template

Once the suppressed item record has been created, you will need to add the following information:

CALL #   099         SERIALS 1X ADD                  THIS FIELD IS PART OF THE TEMPLATE

VOLUME              Field will contain all issues for one (and only one) volume or multiple complete volumes. 

  • EX:  v.43 no.4 2010  ;  v.43 no.1,2,3,5 2010  ;  v.43 no.1,5,6 2010  ; 
  • EX:  v.43-48 2000-2005  ;

Some exceptions may apply; discuss with serials supervisor(s).

NOTE                     Field will contain type & supplier (Date/Initials) volume:issue

  • EX: NOTE                     Gift of Juana Young (8/18/10 dab) 43:4  
  • EX: NOTE                     Subs overlap (D/I) v:I;
  • EX: NOTE                     Gift of pub (D/I) v:I;
  • EX: NOTE                     BVOL RECD BSERV (D/I) v:I;
  • EX: NOTE                     REPL RECD ABSOLUTE (D/I) v:i

NOTE                     Field will contain needed information or instruction

  • EX: NOTE                     Hold until no.5, 6 recd (08/24/10rg)
  • EX: NOTE                     Lacking 43:5, 6; added to Backserv/missing issues list (D/I)
  • EX: NOTE                     1X ADD SENT TO CAT (D/I)

Lacking issues will be monitored and searched for on the Backserv list.

Example of 1xAdd Shelf Item Record Notes:

1X Add Item Record Note

Once a complete volume has been acquired, use 1X ADD PROCEDURES.

Note: Slim ARKCO titles that could be damaged while sitting on the 1xADD SHELF should be placed in a folder before being sent to the 1xADD SHELF to aid in their preservation. 

See StaffGuide: LINX (Storage) for more the processing procedures for the main collection and LINX storage annex.

Serials may occasionally receive a monograph to be added to the collection. The gifted monograph will go to the Monographs Acquisitions Cataloging Assistant. If the monograph is in a non-print format, you will pass it off to Performing Arts Librarian. If the monograph is from the Government Publishing Office or we have a GPO record of the title, pass the gift to Document Processing Supervisor (Government Documents). 

Reworked 1xadd to correspond with new form 

Issues received may be new gift donation or may complete a volume on the Serials 1x add shelf.

Add issues in whole volumes only, unless instructed differently.

  1. Locate bibliographic record - Make print out including summary
  2. Verify holdings at location if needed
  3. If bibliographic record not found, look for OCLC Record - Make print out
  4. Complete paper work: 
    1. Start set-up/1x add form
      1. Determine if the 1x add needs original bib. [Original bibs are needed if there is no suitable OCLC record to export and an original bib must be made. Note: Brief bibs still need an original, as they do not qualify as a full bib.]
    2. Check off what type of add it is:
      1. “1x add”               [Give to Records Maintenance Supervisor for bib record export. Note: if you export a record from OCLC, be sure to add the newly created record number on the 1xADD form.] Note: When you mark 1xadd, it is counted as a new title in statistics (new titles include original cataloging or bib xpo).
      2. “1x added vol(s)”             [Use existing bib record]
      3. “1x added copy” for new format / adding location [Use existing bib record]
    3. Check off the type:
      1. Continuation
      2. Arkansas Continuation
      3. Periodical
      4. Arkansas Periodical
    4. Fill out the form by copying and pasting the corresponding sections from the bib/OCLC record
      1. Title (245)
      2. Author (if available)
      3. Search Record (.b#, Other, OCLC number)
      4. Write name of donor (can be the also be publisher, or “unknown”)
      5. VENDOR CODE or PMT TYPE: (this will almost always be Gift, but if you have questions ask R3)
      6. FUND: (since most 1xadds will be gifts, the fund for gifts is none)
      7. Other Information: List what volumes/issues are being added as well as any other pertinent information (number of pieces, URL, need for a bookplate, etc.). During this phase, you should look for errata/corrections in the journals in recent journals. Use your best judgment about whether an error or correction should be noted. If important errata are found, copy the errata page, following the errata copying guidelines. Keep the errata with 1xADD paperwork. Make a note detailing which issue contains the errata/corrections. You should also review each issue for loose material within the addition. Some loose material can be discarded, but if you discover something and have a question about it, consult your supervisor. If you exported a record from OCLC, write BIB XPO (D/I) and include a copy of the OCLC record with the paperwork. During this step, you may encounter duplicate copies of 1xadd material. Set these off to the side. When we deliver the 1xadd to binding, include the duplicate copies with the note: 1xadd Duplicates (D/I). Binding can then select the best copy to use for binding. 
      8. Location: Where the title will be going. (If there are multiple locations for a given title, state where this particular vol/iss should be stored).
      9. Call number
      10. HOLDINGS. Copy and paste from LIB HAS note (Remove the delimiters). Update the holdings to include the newly added material. For example: if the LIB Has note reads: MAIN: v.61- |2007- and you are adding vol. 60 2006, update the holdings to read MAIN: v.60- |2006- . For clarity, highlight any changes you make to the LIB HAS note. Editing the LIB HAS can be tricky. If you need help in determining how to craft a correct LIB HAS note, speak with a coworker, or visit the Serials Summary Holdings section of the Cataloging and Acquisitions Research Guide
      11. Binding: In this section you will select what type of binding (if any) a particular addition will receive. It may be necessary to consult with binding to determine which type of binding should be used.
  5. Review “Series Authority” records as required and enter appropriate information
    1. F= analyzed in full; P=analyzed in part; N=not analyzed
    2. S= separately; C=collectively
  6. If book plates are needed/wanted:
  1. Special Collections’ bookplates will be ‘virtual’ only;
    1. For Spec Coll bookplates, add in the “Other Information” section the line Add local bookplate 690 subject: (Book plate name).
  2. Acquisitions will make the bookplate and flag;
  3. Follow cataloging directions, see link above.
  1. Remove all packaging, sticky notes, etc. from issues before sending to Cataloging
    1. CREATE or MODIFY “Ser 1x add item record
    2. CHANGE STATUS from “a (at serials)” to “b (in process)”
    3. ADD “x” note: 
      1. Subs overlap (D/I) v:I;
      2. Gift of pub (D/I) v:I;
      3. BVOL RECD BSERV (D/I) v:I;
      4. REPL RECD ABSOLUTE (D/I) v:i
    4. ADD “x” note:  Sent to cat (D/I)
  2. Take volume/issue to Cataloging with paperwork

Note: 1xadds for items currently held in Storage require the approval of the subject selector as well as Judy Ganson. 

When returned from Cataloging:

  1. R3 - Verify holdings in bibliographic record
  2. R3 - Staple both corners of paperwork
  3. R3 - Photocopy 1X Add sheet and send with issues going to binding
  4. R3 - Enter information into 1X Add excel spreadsheet for statistics
  5. R3 - Hole punch and file alphabetically in notebooks

A Bind Review is a short consultation with binding to determine the binding needs for a particular title. Binding will examine margin spacing, paper quality, potential use, and other relevant factors to determine how (or whether) a title should be bound.

In some cases, while filling out the 1xadd sheet, you may need to consult with binding for a binding review.

Gather several issues of the title in question and take them into binding for review. If you notice a format change in the run of the addition (e.g. the publication changes from a magazine style printing to a newspaper, be sure to bring copies of each to show binding).

Binding will give you their decision, and you can use that decision to complete your 1xadd paperwork. 

Creation of Brief Bibs 

Description: 

Brief bibs are bibliographic records that are produced by serials which contain only on the essential information about a title. These bibs are basically placeholders until cataloging can create a more thorough bibliographic record.

One time additions that require original cataloging will also require the creation of a brief bib before sending the addition to cataloging. (Note: before creating a brief bib, complete a thorough review of Sierra and OCLC. A brief bib will only be needed when a suitable record cannot be located [needs original cataloging]). 

To create a brief bib: 

  • In the main Sierra window, select File >>New Record >>Bibliographic Record [ctrl+n]. 

Brief bib Selection

  • You will be prompted to select a template. Choose serial: Mullins brief bib records

Brief Bib Template Selection

  • Note: If this option is not available, you will need to cancel the record creation, and add the template using: Admin>>Settings>>Record Template. Then add the Mullins brief bib records template to your possible selections. 

Adding template

  • The template will be bare. Fill out the fields as much as you reasonably can. Keep in mind that cataloging will create a full bibliographic record when the 1xaddition reaches them
    • You must have:
      • a title (245 field)
      • a ALT TITLE (222) that is the same as the title..
      • Local Note v947: BRIEF BIB KEYED IN; needs original (D/I).
      • Blank CAT DATE
  • After completing the fields, click Save. The record should now be searchable in Sierra.  Use this record to complete your 1xaddition paperwork.  Remember to print a copy of the brief bib that you have created when completing the 1xaddition. 

Example brief bib: 

Brief Bib example

 Exporting  a Bib from OCLC

You have found a Bib Record in OCLC that you want to export to Sierra.

  • In OCLC select the ActionExport button. This will export the record into Sierra. 


          OCLC Bib Export

  • Once the Bib has been exported, run an OCLC number search in Sierra for the record you have just imported to verify that it has exported properly into Sierra.

Clean up the Bib record by doing the following:

  •  Blank out the catalog date. 

           OCLC Cat Date

  •  Add a local 947 note (v) that reads: BIB XPO (D/I)
  •  Examine the record for 246 (ALT TITLE) fields. Make sure for that for every 246 field, there is an identical 222 [ALT TITLE] field.  Additionally, for every TITLE field there needs to be a 222(ALT TITLE) field. You may have to add them.

            Alt Titles

Note: When adding a TITLE that contains a delimiter, only include the first section of the title (up to the delimiter) for the ALT TITLE. This is because in the ALT TITLE tag delimiters are not processed in the same manner. 

BIB XPO with Delimiter

  • Remove any URLs (856 fields) that are linked in the bib as they may not function correctly. An exception to this would be open access journals. Should the journal be open access, and the link function properly, you could leave it in.
  • Remove any Dewey Decimal Classification numbers (082 Fields). Genre fields (655) can be left for cataloging to clean up. 
  • Finally, return the local 947 BIB XPO note that you created. Update the note to include any changes that you have made to the Bib record. For example, if you deleted an 856 field or 082 field, indicate BIB XPO (D/I); 856 deleted, 082 deleted (D/I); or if you added a 222 indicate: BIB XPO (D/I) 222 added (D/I)

The Bib has now been exported and readied for the procedure. 

Here are the default locations for new materials added to the main collection:

  • Purchased materials go to main unless designated for storage.
  • Gifts go to storage unless designated for main (per Joel).

Subject selectors will make this determination when they order new materials or accept gifts. Materials should be flagged if they are not going to the default location.

 

Need write up on counting statistics when initially filling out the 1xadd and then for when it is being reviewed  7/9 cwh