StaffGuide: Serials Receiving & Processing

Serials Receiving & Processing StaffGuide Home Page

Processing--One Time Orders Placed by Serials Acquisitions

One Time Orders Placed by Serials Acquisitions:

Definition:

One Time Order: The University Libraries may decide to seek a one time order through the publisher or vendor. This means that we will pay one time and that this is NOT an ongoing subscription. Sometimes subject selectors have leftover funds and can purchase one time orders of serial volumes of certain serial titles. The Serials Acquisitions Manager will let the Serials Processing Specialist and the Serials Receiving Specialist know about the one time order. After finding out about the one time order, the Serials Processing Specialist will initiate the process by creating a brief one time order check in record that will be suppressed from the public display. If we are one time ordering a title that we do not already have in Sierra, proceed to export an OCLC record or create a brief bibliographic record, then create the suppressed one time order check in record. Let the Serials Acquisitions Manager know that you have exported an OCLC record or create a brief bibliographic record so that they can add a one time order record. If we already had a bibliographic record in Sierra, the Serials Acquisitions Manager probably already added a one time order record. 

Most of the time, the Serials Acquisitions Manager will want the one time order to go to them first after it is received in the mail. After we receive the one time order in the mail, then the paperwork and issue(s) will be sent to the Serials Acquisitions Manager so they can review the issues and paperwork then send everything  to the Serials Cataloging Supervisor to be cataloged. After everything is cataloged, the Serials Cataloging Supervisor will return the paperwork and issue(s) back to the Serials Processing Specialist to finish up the processing of the one time order. 

 

Check the following tabs for each step in the one time order process. 

Processing--One Time Orders--How to Add New Bibliographic Record to Sierra (IF NEEDED)

**NOTE: Only export or add a brief bibliographic if our library does not have the title being one time added. Most of the time, we make one time orders for titles we already have in the catalog. 

Add New Bibliographic Record to Sierra:

You will either export the OCLC record of the serial title or create a brief bibliographic record in Sierra if original cataloging is needed.


Exporting a record from OCLC Connexion Client:

  • After finding a record in OCLC, always do a search in Sierra to see if we already have the OCLC record before exporting the record. If you cannot find the OCLC record in Sierra, proceed to export the record. 
  • You will click on the "ActionExport" icon located in the tool bar up at the top. Be careful. This export icon is next to the printer icon. Image of where to find the export icon in OCLC Connexion Client desktop version.
  • A pop up window will show up after exporting the record. Please read the pop up window before closing the window. It will tell you if it overlaid a record or not. Also it will tell you the bibliographic record number. You can copy/paste this number into Sierra and do a .# search to find the new record.

Creating a brief bibliographic record in Sierra: 

  1. Only create a brief bibliographic record in Sierra if you are unable to find an OCLC record. The title might need original cataloging.
  2. Make sure you are using the serial Mullins brief bib records preferred template. If this is your first time, follow the instruction below to set up your preferred template for serial brief records. 
    1. In Sierra, go to Admin-->Settings-->Record Templates-->Record Type: Bibliographic-->Find serial Mullins brief bib records template and make sure to move it over to the Preferred Templates side by clicking the arrow pointing to the Preferred Templates side.
    2. Image of how to find the serial Mullins brief bib records template in Sierra.
  3. Now, go to the search interface of Sierra and click on “New” icon located at the top right of the window. This is how a new brief bib is created.
  4. Enter 245 (Title)222 (Alternate title) 1st indicator is blank and 2nd indicator 0, and 947 (local note) [ add (date and initials) to the 947 after the phrase "BRIEF BIB KEYED IN; needs original.".
    1. All the MARC fields that you do not enter data into will disappear after you click "Save".
    2. The MARC 85641 field can be deleted if you do not intend to add a URL. 
    3. Change the location in the bibliographic to the appropriate location. 
    4. Keep in mind that a brief bib record doesn't need a lot of information because the cataloger will catalog the record completely. 

Processing--One Time Orders--Add One Time Order Check In Record

You can follow the instructions on how to create a check in record here. Below you will find what the fixed field codes and the variable field codes should be for one time orders. One time order check in records are not the same as check in records for ongoing subscription/standing orders.


New check in record fixed field codes:

LABEL TYPE: n (NO LABEL)  [Once the title is cataloged, then you can choose the appropriate label type.]

SCODE1: n SUPPRESS

SCODE2: -  ---

COPIES: [Usually 1 copy but add the appropriate number of copies you will be checking in on the check in record]

LOCATION: Choose the appropriate location designated by the subject selector or the Serials Acquisitions Manager

RLOC: s (SER MULN)

VENDOR: Choose the appropriate vendor code. The Serials Acquisitions Manager will let you know or after the order record is created you can find the vendor code in there. 

SCODE3: Choose the appropriate code. For example, if it is a continuation, then “3” (R3 CONTINUATIONS). If it is not a continuation or newspaper then “r” (R1-R2 CONT). If it is a newspaper then “n” (NEWSPAPERS).

SCODE4: ---


New check in record variable field codes:

IDENTITY: 1x Order

NOTE: "*****When issues arrive, do not check it in. Please give the issues to the Serials Acquisitions Manager. After the Serials Acquisitions Manager is done, please send the issues to the Serials Processing Specialist to be 1x added. (date and initials)"

NOTE(S): You might need to add instruction notes here.

NOTE: "CLAIMS: If this comes up for claims, please go see the Serials Acquisitions Manager before doing anything else. (date and initials)"

NOTE: Copy/paste URL in a note field. If you can’t find a useful URL, then do not add a URL note.

NOTE: -----Keep this check in record suppressed until further notice. This check in record is used for 1x orders only. DELETE CHECK IN RECORD WHEN IT IS NO LONGER NEEDED. (date and initials)

MESSAGE: Only add a message field if you believe you will receive more issues while the title is waiting to be cataloged. You message can say "When issues arrive, do not check it in. Please give the issues to the Serials Acquisitions Manager. After the Serials Acquisitions Manager is done, please send the issues to the Serials Processing Specialist to be 1x added. (date and initials)".


Check in card:

  • Edit the card appropriately. Check the frequency, the chronology captions, the enumeration, and days before claim.
  • Add the number of boxes that you need for the one time order. For example, if 6 volumes or 6 issues were ordered then add 6 boxes. 
  • Choose an appropriate expected date for the box or boxes. Most of the time the order will arrive within 30 days but if it is an international order, it could take longer to arrive (maybe up to 8-10 weeks). Adjust accordingly.  If unsure, ask the Serials Acquisitions Manager. '
  • You can add staff notes to the box or boxes if you want to. 

 


Examples of 1x order check in records: New American Paintings, Graphis Journal

Processing--One Time Orders--Send One Time Order to Serials Cataloging

Sending One Time Order to the Serials Acquisitions Manager then having them send it to Serials Cataloging: 

  • Add top note to check in record "SENT TO SERIALS ACQUISITIONS MANAGER / CAT (date and initials)".
  • Fill out and print out form on the appropriate colored paper. Below you can find the forms.
    • Periodical = yellow form
    • Continuation = blue form
    • Arkansas periodical = pink form
    • Arkansas continuation = green form
  • At the top left of the form, make sure to put "1X ORDER".
  • It is important to sign off on the "OCLC REVIEW" line and "MAINTENANCE" line with your date and initials.
  • Place paperwork and issue(s) in the Serials Acquisitions Manager's basket. At this time, they will create the paid order record. 
  • Then the Serials Acquisitions Manager will place the paperwork and issue(s) in the Serials Cataloging Supervisor's basket called "IN: WORK FROM SERIALS".
    • Place paperwork and issue(s) in the Serials Cataloging Supervisor's basket called "IN: WORK FROM SERIALS".

 

Processing--One Time Orders--One Time Order Record

One Time Order Record:

Remember that the Serials Acquisitions Manager will create the one time order record.

Processing--One Time Orders--When One Time Order Returns from Serials Cataloging

When the One Time Order Returns from Cataloging:

  • Check bibliographic record:
    • Make sure 860 is correct.
    • Make sure the 945 with cataloger's initials is added.
    • If you find something that is incorrect or missing, send the paperwork back to the Serials Cataloging Supervisor explaining what is incorrect or missing. They will send the paperwork back once the record is corrected. 
  • Check in record: Delete the check in card and check in record after it is no longer needed.  
  • Create item record and process volume: Proceed create an item record, scan barcode, label appropriately, and add security strip and property stamp if needed. 
  • Count 1x Add Statistics: On the __Serials YYYY-YYYY One Time Adds spreadsheet, add the Y or N if it came back from BackStage Cataloging, add title, OCLC number, location, Done Date (Date it was reviewed by the Serials Processing Specialist after everything came back from Serials Cataloging Supervisor), who (initials of the person who reviewed everything back from cataloging), count the appropriate number for the appropriate columns/rows of the worksheet. For example, if we exported the title, then count 1 paid SER title count. 1 item record created= 1 paid VOLUME count. If it is analyzed, then you would proceed to count monograph title and monograph volume count. 
  • Paperwork: Sign off on the paperwork with today's date on the MAINTENANCE line at the bottom of the paperwork. 
  • Paperwork:  At the top left corner write the fiscal year (YY/YY) and a star. The star means you counted the added gift title. 
    • For example: 19/20
  • Paperwork: File paperwork in the appropriate fiscal year within the Search Records cabinet or if it is an older fiscal year, its search records box. If we do not have a cabinet or box for the older fiscal year then throw away the paperwork. 
  • Item: Place on the appropriate pick up location shelf. 
  • The process is complete now!