StaffGuide: Serials Receiving & Processing

Serials Receiving & Processing StaffGuide Home Page

Processing New Publish on Demand Titles

Processing New Publish on Demand Titles

Scope

Before officially processing the new publish on demand title, the Serials Processing Specialist is responsible for informing the subject selector about the new online only publication as well as obtaining a decision from the subject selector on how to process the new online only publication.


Gather Information for the Subject Selector and Obtain a Decision

       Include this information in your email to the selector:
  • Public Display Catalog URL, if applicable.
  • Bibliographic number to bibliographic record (Sierra), if applicable.
  • Title  
  • Author
  • URL to publication or let the subject selector know that this publication is only available as an attachment via email or the email content of the email from the publisher is considered the publication.
    • Any special restrictions or instructions on access (passwords, search box, or unusual content delivery method).

    A decision needs to be made by the subject selector. Below you will find a list of questions to ask the selector:

  • Does the online only publication need to be cataloged? Does the selector want the Serials Department to capture and save the content as a PDF format?
  • If the online only record will not be cataloged, does the selector want a brief bibliographic record (not fully cataloged record) to be added
  • Does the selector want Serials to capture and save future content as a PDF format?
  • If the online only record will not be cataloged and the bibliographic record for the physical format does not have a URL, do we add the URL to the bibliographic record?
  • If the online only record will not be cataloged and the bibliographic record for the physical format already has a URL, do we retain or remove the URL from the bibliographic record?

If the title will be set up for publish on demand:

  • If the subject selector wants a physical copy created, you must ask the publisher’s permission if the University of Arkansas Libraries can produce a copy of the publication for library purposes only.
  • Request permission from the publisher to print or make available the publisher’s resource to the library (through printing or burning to a CD-ROM).  Record this note in the check-in record and add a 947 local note in the bibliographic record about the publisher's permission to produce a copy of the publication for library purposes only.

Below you will find procedures on how to set up the new publish on demand title.

Processing--Publish on Demand--Add New Bibliographic Record in Sierra

Add New Bibliographic Record to Sierra:

You will either export the OCLC record of the serial title or create a brief bibliographic record in Sierra.


Exporting a record from OCLC Connexion Client:

  • After finding a record in OCLC, always do a search in Sierra to see if we already have the OCLC record before exporting the record. If you cannot find the OCLC record in Sierra, proceed to export the record. 
  • You will click on the "ActionExport" icon located in the tool bar up at the top. Be careful. This export icon is next to the printer icon. Image of where to find the export icon in OCLC Connexion Client desktop version.
  • A pop up window will show up after exporting the record. Please read the pop up window before closing the window. It will tell you if it overlaid a record or not. Also it will tell you the bibliographic record number. You can copy/paste this number into Sierra and do a .# search to find the new record.

Adding and updating fields in the bibliographic record in Sierra:

  • Update the location appropriately.
  • Add 222 (Alternate title) 1st indicator is blank and 2nd indicator 0 as needed.
  • Add 947 (local note): "BIB XPO (date and initials)". 
  • Add 947 (local note): "PUBLISH ON DEMAND TITLE".
  • After being granted permission from the publisher to be able to produce a library copy:
    • Add 947 (local note): "Permission granted from the publisher to be able to produce a library copy for library purposes only. (date and initials)".

If OCLC record could not be found, create a brief bibliographic record in Sierra.

  1. Only create a brief bibliographic record in Sierra if you are unable to find an OCLC record.
  2. Make sure you are using the serial Mullins brief bib records preferred template. If this is your first time, follow the instruction below to set up your preferred template for serial brief records. 
    1. In Sierra, go to Admin-->Settings-->Record Templates-->Record Type: Bibliographic-->Find serial Mullins brief bib records template and make sure to move it over to the Preferred Templates side by clicking the arrow pointing to the Preferred Templates side.
    2. Image of how to find the serial Mullins brief bib records template in Sierra.
  3. Now, go to the search interface of Sierra and click on “New” icon located at the top right of the window. This is how a new brief bib is created.
  4. Enter 245 (Title)222 (Alternate title) 1st indicator is blank and 2nd indicator 0, and 947 (local note) [ add (date and initials) to the 947 after the phrase "BRIEF BIB KEYED IN.". Also, add a 947 (local note) "PUBLISH ON DEMAND TITLE". Also, add 947 (local note): "Permission granted from the publisher to be able to produce a library copy for library purposes only. (date and initials)" if granted permission from the publisher to be able to produce a library copy for library purposes only.
    1. All the MARC fields that you do not enter data into will disappear after you click "Save".
    2. The MARC 85641 field can be deleted if you do not intend to add a URL. 
    3. Change the location in the bibliographic to the appropriate location. 
    4. Keep in mind that a brief bib record doesn't need a lot of information. 

Processing--Publish on Demand--Add New Check In Record

You can follow the instructions on how to create a check in record here. Below you will find what the fixed field codes and the variable field codes should be for publish on demand titles. 


New check in record fixed field codes:

LABEL TYPE: n (NO LABEL) 

SCODE1: n (SUPPRESS)

SCODE2: g (GIFT), or the appropriate code if it is not a gift

COPIES: [Usually 1 copy but add the appropriate number of copies you will be checking in on the check in record]

LOCATION: Choose the appropriate location designated by the subject selector.

RLOC: s (SER MULN)

VENDOR: none , or the appropriate code if it is a paid title

SCODE3: Choose the appropriate code. For example, if it is a continuation, then “3” (R3 CONTINUATIONS). If it is not a continuation or newspaper then “r” (R1-R2 CONT).

SCODE4: p (PUBLISH ON DEMAND)


New check in record variable field codes:

(ONLY ADD THIS FIELD IF THE TITLE IS BEING CATALOGED)  CALL #: OnOrder

(ONLY ADD THIS FIELD IF THE TITLE IS BEING CATALOGED)  NOTE: PENDING NEW GIFT SET UP (date and initials)

NOTE(S): You might need to add instruction notes here.

  • For example: NOTE: COUNT. R3. PUBLISH ON DEMAND. ITEM 36-o. [ SET EXP DATE 10/01/XXXX]
  • For example: NOTE: PUBLISH ON DEMAND. [transaction date 10/13/xx]
  •  NOTE:  1.  This is a publish on demand university related title. Checkin by saving the computer file in the local electronic resources drive only. Do not print the computer file until requested. (date and initials)
  •  NOTE:  2.  Public note= "pdf@serials (d/i)" (date and initials)
  •  NOTE: 3.  Staff note= "Publish on demand title. Print copy when requested. (date and initials)" (date and initials)
  •  NOTE:  ----------------------------------
  •  NOTE:  Print job instructions: d/s or s/s, black & white or color, archival paper or regular paper (date and initials)

NOTE: Contact information. "CONTACT:  "

NOTE: Copy/paste URL in a note field. If you can’t find a useful URL, then do not add a URL note.

NOTE: ~~PARAMETERS: (frequency) / (days before claim) (date and initials)

NOTE: -----[Give a brief description of the subject selector's decision and how to process this title. (date and initials)]

NOTE: -----[Your publisher permission granted note will go here. (date and initials)]

(if a gift title): VEN. ADDR. (q) : Add the vendor address to the check-in record.  The vendor address area on the claim slips has a MAXIMUM of five lines allowed.  Each line has a MAXIMUM of twenty-eight character spaces allowed.  Omit punctuation and abbreviate whenever possible. Use all caps. To add an additional line to the vendor address field,click [shift] + [$]. 

 

 

Processing--Publish on Demand--Add New Order Record

**Most Publish on Demand Titles are unpaid but if it is a paid title, the Serials Acquisitions Manager will be responsible for creating the paid order record. Below you will find information on how to create a gift order record if the title is unpaid. 


Adding a new gift publish on demand gift order record: 

  • In the record, change your summary view to o Order
  • Select Attach New Order button in the Summary screen of the record.

Select Attach New Order button in the Summary screen of the record.

  • After clicking the button you will go through a series of prompt windows. Below you will find instructions about them.

New gift order record fixed field codes:

ACQ TYPE: 0 (NO CHARGE)

ACQ TYPE: 0 (NO CHARGE)

LOCATION: Choose the appropriate location designated by the subject selector.

Location

COPIES: Usually 1 copy but if multiple copies, please indicate that.

Copies.

CODE3: Only change this to “3” (R3) if the serial is a continuation. If it is not a continuation the the code is “-“ (---).

CODE3: Only change this to “3” (R3) if the serial is a continuation. If it is not a continuation the the code is “-“ (---).

E PRICE: $0.00

E PRICE: $0.00

FORM: Usually p (PERIODICAL) but if it isn't then choose the appropriate format type. 

FORM: Usually p (PERIODICAL) but if it isn't then choose the appropriate format type.

FUND: none

ODATE: Is the date you created the order record. 

ODATE: Is the date you created the order record.

ORD TYPE: g (GIFT)

ORD TYPE: g (GIFT)

RLOC: s (SER MULN)

BLOC: s (SER MULN)

STATUS: f (SERIAL NO ENC)

STATUS: f (SERIAL NO ENC)

VENDOR: none

VENDOR: none


New gift order record variable field codes:

IDENTITY: Only add this field if you have a paid copy and a gift copy. You will add "GIFT COPY" to the identity field. If this field is not needed, then do not add it. 

VEN. ADDR. (q) : Add the vendor address to the check-in record.  The vendor address area on the claim slips has a MAXIMUM of five lines allowed.  Each line has a MAXIMUM of twenty-eight character spaces allowed.  Omit punctuation and abbreviate whenever possible. Use all caps. To add an additional line to the vendor address field,click [shift] + [$]. 

Processing--Publish on Demand--Decided to be Cataloged--Sending to Cataloging

Sending Publish on Demand Set Up to Serials Cataloging: 

  • Only send to Serials Cataloging if the subject selector wants the new online only title to be cataloged.
  • Add top note to check in record "SENT TO CAT (date and initials)".
  • Fill out and print out form on the appropriate colored paper. Below you can find the forms.
    • Periodical = yellow form
    • Continuation = blue form
    • Arkansas periodical = pink form
    • Arkansas continuation = green form
  • In the top left corner of the form write "PUBLISH ON DEMAND SET UP".
  • It is important to sign off on the "OCLC REVIEW" line and "MAINTENANCE" line with your date and initials.
  • Place paperwork and issue(s) in the Serials Cataloging Supervisor's basket called "IN: WORK FROM SERIALS".
    • Place paperwork and issue(s) in the Serials Cataloging Supervisor's basket called "IN: WORK FROM SERIALS".

 

Processing--Publish on Demand--Decided to be Cataloged--When Set Up Returns from Cataloging

When the Publish on Demand Set Up Returns from Serials Cataloging:

  • Check bibliographic record:
    • Make sure the 945 with cataloger's initials is added.
    • If you find something that is incorrect or missing, send the paperwork back to the Serials Cataloging Supervisor explaining what is incorrect or missing. They will send the paperwork back once the record is corrected. 
  • Check in record: Delete all pending notes and message fields no longer needed. 
  • Check in record: Make sure all the fields and notes in the check in record are up to date and make sense. 
  • Check in record: Proceed to make sure all PDFs are saved.
  • Statistics: On the DROP ADD CANCEL WORKSHEET (See Ser stats Excel sheet below, DropAddCancel rev tab), add the appropriate tally to the add section of the worksheet. It is a gift and you need to figure out what type of serial it is. For example: It is a continuation gift. It is a periodical gift. It is a CD-ROM gift. 
  • Paperwork: Sign off on the paperwork with today's date on the MAINTENANCE line at the bottom of the paperwork. 
  • Paperwork:  At the top left corner write the fiscal year (YY/YY) and a star. The star means you counted the added gift title. 
    • For example: 19/20
  • Paperwork: File paperwork in the appropriate fiscal year within the Search Records cabinet or if it is an older fiscal year, its search records box. If we do not have a cabinet or box for the older fiscal year then throw away the paperwork. 
  • The process is complete now!